Scent Addicts – Perfume reviews, fragrance news, & more!


Salvatore Ferragamo Incanto Bliss
Incanto Bliss

Incanto Bliss

NOTES (as listed on sephora.com): yuzu, kumquat, apple, freesia, water lily, rose, musk, sandalwood, cedarwood

CLASSIFICATION: slightly floral, very slightly fruity

AGE GROUP: high school and up

SIMILAR SCENT(s): DKNY Red Delicious

FORM: eau de toilette

Other than stuck up, biased, ignorant perfume snobs – who doesn’t love the Incanto bottles?  They’re beautiful, feminine, lovely additions to any fragrance lover’s collection.  Does the juice justify the purchase of the newest Incanto creation beyond adding a pretty bottle to your vanity top?

In my opinion, no.  But perhaps the smell of strong, slightly musky, even slighter femininity (the best way I can describe this scent) will appeal more to your nose than it did to mine.  I wanted to love Bliss.  I really wanted to love Bliss.

My nose goes through many an emotion throughout the various stages of Bliss.  First, there’s the slightly odd smell of the fresh spray onto the wrist.  It’s a bit strong when it’s still settling in (and for the hundredth time, I’m an extremely sparing sprayer), and the oddness is indescribable other than that it’s unique, and not very “young.”  Keep in mind that “odd” does not necessarily mean bad.  It’s just unlike any other scent (at this point in the dry down) than I have ever encountered.

Once the fragrance actually dries on the wrist, it’s extremely enjoyable (for me, at least).  It’s a concoction comprised of floral goodness and sweet citrus hints, but not so much that I would consider this to be anywhere close to a fruity fragrance (despite seeming so, according to the notes). This blissful aroma does not last long, though.  Once the fragrance has gone through all of it’s settling stages, the end result – for me – is undesirable.

To me, there is a difference between mature and “old lady”-like, when it comes to perfumes.  I personally do not like the term “old lady,” either, but hear me out.  When I say “old lady,” I am referring to the general scent that envelopes you when you open the top drawer in your Grandmother’s vanity; the smell of generic flower power gone slightly sour in a box containing 40-year old cosmetics  in her hot attic; the smell of her closet; the smell of an old bar of some random soap from Avon.  It doesn’t necessarily literally mean old lady, but it is, unfortunately, the most recognizable associative phrase to get my point across.  I will from now on refer to this type of scent as “old,” rather than “old lady.”

That is what I get from Incanto Bliss.  The scent is not bad.  It’s just not for me.  It’s a very “old,” slightly nostalgic smell, but it is not mature.   It is not unpleasant, but it is neither, once dried down, fresh nor fruity nor spicy.. the best classification of it is certainly floral, but that is not to say that this is a richly floral fragrance.  I myself am an avid fan of floral scents, but this one certainly won’t be appearing on my Christmas list.

Samplers, beware. Perhaps you will indeed enjoy this scent throughout it’s stages and determine it purchase-worthy. Congratulations on your new perfume baby, if that is the case.  Do, however, keep in mind that throughout this perfume’s several stages I went from feelings of mediocrity to absolute adoration to apathy.  Be sure to let this sink in before you make a decision in either direction.

REPORT CARD

(We highly recommend reading our guide to understanding our grading system if you haven’t already)

First sniff (bottle): B++

First sniff (skin): C- –

Worn scent: C-

Staying power: B+

Scent as compared to note(s): B+

Bottle: A

Overall: C

Definitely unique.  If you’re looking for a nostalgic scent or just something out of the ordinary, this may be the one for you.  This is not a sweet, or fruity, perfume, and is also not entirely floral, but is best described as such.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

