Scent Addicts – Perfume reviews, fragrance news, & more!


Petal by Cynthia Rowley for Avon
Petal

Petal

NOTES (as listed on avon.com): no real list of notes, however, it is described as “a youthful blush of fresh-blooming lily of the valley.”

CLASSIFICATION: floral

AGE GROUP: high school and up

SIMILAR SCENT(s): n/a

FORM: eau de toilette

I have wanted to sample both Petal and it’s “older” counterpart, Flower, ever since I first saw their debut in the ol’ Avon catalog.

A very cute idea, Petal and Flower are marketed as mother-daughter fragrances.  While Petal comes in a smaller, pink colored bottle, Flower comes in the same bottle, but white,  in a larger size.  Customer reviews of Petal enticed me as they described the scent as youthful, slightly sweet, and pleasantly floral.  It seemed to have had my name written all over it.

My first smell, from the nozzle directly, told me all that I thought I needed to know about it.  It was much stronger, both as far as the depth of the scent as well as the strength of it, than I was expecting – especially when taking into consideration that this is something for younger girls to wear.  It’s a singular floral, rather than a mixed bouquet of flowers.  It doesn’t have many facets (not that I was expecting it to).

I sprayed it on my skin and was immediately surprised.  Not sure if I got some sort of rotten mixture or what, but it was white and milky.  It did not sink into my skin very well, or very quickly.  Despite this odd start, I waited patiently with my wrist level so as not to lose any of the milky goodness.  Finally, it sunk in, and my first impression remained the same.

No doubt that this is a floral fragrance.  It is much stronger than I was expecting it to be, and it was also a bit more mature of a floral fragrance than I was expecting. If I had a daughter, I don’t think I would buy this for her unless she was well into her high school years.  While it is, as previously mentioned, a singular floral, this also has a bit of a grassiness to it, so this fragrance may be for you if you’re a greeny/crispy floral fragrance fan.

Despite what you would probably expect for a young girl’s perfume, this has great staying power.  Reapplication would be the last thing on your, or your daughter’s, mind.  Since it is not a particularly multifaceted fragrance, the consistency is quite dependable.  No surprises here.

REPORT CARD

(We highly recommend reading our guide to understanding our grading system if you haven’t already)

First sniff (bottle): B-

First sniff (skin): C

Worn scent: C

Staying power: A

Scent as compared to note(s): A

Bottle: B

Overall: C

Pretty strong, as far as how it is marketed, and for who it is “made for.”  While I wouldn’t recommend this for young(er) girls, if you are a true fan of floral fragrances, this may be worth a shot if you can find it at a good enough price.  It’s a very fresh-cut-flowers smell.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I haven’t bought this yet but I have sprayed it on my skin and it didn’t seem to be white or milky. You probably got a bad mixture.
Oh, and the first thing I think of when I smell this perfume is honeysuckle. Yum.

Comment by Hmm.




Leave a Reply

