Scent Addicts – Perfume reviews, fragrance news, & more!


Rock ‘n Rose Pret A Porter by Valentino
Rock n Rose Prêt à Porter

Rock 'n Rose Prêt à Porter

NOTES (as listed on fragrantica.com): bergamot, black currant, crispy green, cassis, rose, gardenia, lily of the valley, orange blossom, sandalwood, orris root, musk, vanilla, heliotrope

CLASSIFICATION: floral, slightly powdery, feminine

AGE GROUP:  College

SIMILAR SCENT(s): N/A

FORM: Eau De Toilette

Rock n’ Rose Pret A Porter is a fresh, floral fragrance that makes me feel significantly more feminine than most perfumes.  At first spray, it is quite possibly my favorite scent ever.  Soon after initial application, however, the powdery notes become more prominent.  While this doesn’t ruin the fragrance, it doesn’t help it.

Despite the powdery spin on the perfume, I do enjoy it.  It is ultra modern, and a deliciously light spin off the original Rock n’ Rose (which, to me, is simply too much rose).  Pret A Porter is obviously aimed at the younger crowd, and perhaps it would fit in quite nicely, if not for the dry down.

It is not overly rosy, although I can detect just a hint of roses from the fragrance.  Admittedly, I was a bit worried about that aspect of the fragrance — let the buyer beware that if you love roses, the perfume name may be a bit misleading to you.  I was fortunate enough to sample this juice at my local mall before finding it way (and I mean waaaay) cheaper at TJ Maxx.  a 1.6fl oz bottle only cost $29.00 USD before tax!

I read on a few different websites that the staying power of this perfume was a bit of a joke.  I didn’t have a problem with that all.  After hours, I can still smell it on my skin.  The scent is pretty consistent after initial dry-down, as well.  No complaints from me.

It goes without saying that I will be adding this to my collection, even despite the powdery notes that I generally detest in fragrances.  Although this is aimed at the young perfume wearer for casual occassions, I feel that it is one of the more mature scents that I own — in a light, fresh, and feminine way.

REPORT CARD

(We highly recommend reading our guide to understanding our grading system if you haven’t already)

First sniff (bottle): A

First sniff (skin): A+

Worn scent: B+

Staying power: A

Scent as compared to note(s): A

Bottle: C

Overall:  B+

I recommend Pret A Porter to college aged and older women that want an elegant (yet light!) spring or summertime fragrance.  I feel that it can be dressed up or down, but mostly up.  And, don’t forget to check your local TJ Maxx to see if they have any in stock — you’ll save a bundle.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

No need for me to add my two scents to this review, as I feel pretty much the same about it (although I did not end up adding it to my collection).

I must reiterate where Jackie mentioned that the staying power is quite good – it also lasted what seemed like a lifetime on my skin (which is good!).

– Rebecca

Comment by scentaddicts




Leave a Reply

