Scent Addicts – Perfume reviews, fragrance news, & more!


Inspire by Christina Aguilera

Inspire by Christina Aguilera

Inspire by Christina Aguilera

NOTES (as listed on fragrantica.com): freesia, mango, citruses, tuberose, gardenia, rose, sandalwood, musk, valencia orange flower

CLASSIFICATION: floral, feminine, very slightly fruity

AGE GROUP: high school/college and up

SIMILAR SCENT(s): n/a

FORM: eau de parfum

Ahh yes, another celebrity perfume.  Most perfume snobs practically burst into flames when coming into contact with their nemesis, the celebrity perfume.  We here at Scent Addicts love em!  More power to all of the marketable celebrities out there.  More perfumes for us to review that way!

So, here it is – Inspire by Christina Aguilera.  I’m a Christina fan – not die hard or obsessive, but I’ve generally enjoyed her music through the years and she’s never really gotten on my nerves.  When I heard she was coming out with a fragrance, I was excited, and ultra curious.  Christina is saucy, to say the least, and I was therefore assuming that her fragrance would be on the spicier side.  I couldn’t wait to catch a whiff and find out.

I had read somewhere that it was a “fresh” fragrance, which threw me through a loop.  At this point, I was on the edge of my seat.  Upon initial sampling (as in, spraying it on a piece of paper) at my local department store, I didn’t dislike it, but I wasn’t necessarily impressed.  It wasn’t something that I wouldn’t wear if it were in front of me, but it also wasn’t something that I felt the need to spray myself with, either.

The time finally has come that I devoted my wrist to Inspire, to give it a worthy review, and pick apart it’s every facet.

Call me crazy, but when I sniff Inspire from the nozzle of the bottle, I somehow get a slight banana smell out of it.  Maybe it’s just my nose that detects this, maybe not.  This sets the tone for the rest of the strong feminine and ever so slightly fruity fragrance.

Inspire is described as a floral, or more specifically, white floral fragrance.  While it is indeed floral, such a description doesn’t do it’s very aromatic scent justice.  It’s floral with an added sweetness, and extra pinch of femininity.  This probably sounds good to any fruity floral fragance lovers out there, however, sometimes one can have too much of a good thing.

I’m not quite sure whether Inspire constitutes as such.  As I sniff it from the bottle and on my wrist, there is absolutely nothing that I dislike.  I can’t quite put my finger on whether I love it enough to wear it regularly or if it’s too floral-y and sweet to pull off having in a normal rotation.  This is definitely a girlie scent, which I like.. but I also generally prefer that my girlie scents are, while they indeed must have a little bit of a bite to them, just a tiny bit softer.  I suppose that this desire of mine will indeed slowly take effect throughout the duration of my wear time, though, so this isn’t a huge deal.

Is it a good thing, or a bad thing, that Inspire is a very strong fragrance, and borderlines being overwhelming?  Can a gal ever really find the perfect intensity for her perfume – isn’t it always wearing off too fast, or way too strong to the point of choking strangers as you walk past?  While Inspire isn’t that strong, it’s a very intense, rich scent, so sprayer beware – and may I remind you that I am a very sparing sprayer, myself.

Let’s get down to the nitty gritty of the actual scent itself.  I do smell the tuberose in Inspire, which is, at least according to what I have read in countless articles, what Christina Aguilera wanted to base this fragrance around.  I also smell a pleasant (albeit it, in case you didn’t catch my drift earlier, strong) array of feminine florals, and a spoonful of sugar to help the medicine go down.  I must admit, I do enjoy the sweetness of the floral bouquet in Inspire. Many times, at least in my experience, with floral perfumes they can be a bit bitter, or become too woodsy.  No need to worry about that happening with Inspire.

In a nutshell, it’s sweet, it’s floral, it’s feminine.  I think if Britney’s name were on it, it would have received a lot more flack than it did.  Do I like it? Yes.  Could I potentially love it? Certainly.  I need a few more trial runs before I can successfully determine whether it’s rotation worthy, or just something that I will end up admiring from afar.  If I had to put money on it today, I’d bet that I’ll be adding this puppy to my perfume shelf in no time.

REPORT CARD

(We highly recommend reading our guide to understanding our grading system if you haven’t already)

First sniff (bottle): B-

First sniff (skin): B

Worn scent: A-

Staying power: A++

Scent as compared to note(s): A

Bottle: B- (not bad, but just doesn’t do anything for me)

Overall: A-

Sweet, strong, floral, and feminine.  If that sounds as good to you as it does to me, what are you waiting for?  Go sample it today.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

