Scent Addicts – Perfume reviews, fragrance news, & more!


In Control Curious by Britney Spears

In Control Curious

In Control Curious

NOTES (as listed on fragrancenet.com): night orchid, sandalwood, loquat fruit, black vanilla, musk, creme brulee, sugar, tonka crystals

CLASSIFICATION: unique, floriental, very slightly fruity

AGE GROUP: college, slightly mature

SIMILAR SCENT(s): n/a

FORM: eau de parfum

It’s one of my favorite perfume bottles of all time (see further below for the version with the atomizer).  It’s Britney (who I love).  It was only a matter of time before I actually sampled this one, beyond a quick sniff of the nozzle.

Keep in mind that In Control Curious was released as a limited edition fragrance, back in 2006.  We’re already three years past that release, so locating it in person is pretty much impossible, unless your TJ Maxx or Marshall’s still has a few boxes sitting around, or somehow comes upon a miracle leftovers box of some sort.  If you’re interested in this fragrance, purchasing it online is your best bet.  I highly, highly recommend Fragrancenet – and we don’t advertise on Scent Addicts, nor do we have any sort of affiliate or referral link to them, so that is a genuine recommendation.

Dare I say that perhaps my tastes in perfume have either matured, or perhaps just broadened a bit.  Either way, In Control Curious is something that I can picture myself not particularly caring for six months ago.   First, I’ll share with you the description of it from the makers of the fragrance.

[In Control Curious] is sweet and sexy, romantically pink and dangerously black. The composition is a sensual mixture of vanilla and musky notes, crème brûlée and night orchid. It opens with juicy notes of loquat fruit. The heart harmonizes midnight orchid, crème brûlée, black vanilla bean and tonka crystals. The base notes are sugared sandalwood and musk.

If the “romatically pink and dangerously black” part makes sense to you – then I can attest that it is an accurate description of this scent.  Although floriental, which is usually a bit too harsh for my taste, In Control Curious is quite romantic.  The dangerously black aspect comes into play when the sophistication of this perfume’s dry down sinks in.  This is a very modern fragrance, and although it is mature and sophisticated, I find it perfect for college aged and slightly older.  I wouldn’t recommend it for the extremely mature woman, although it wouldn’t be a bad match (depending on the woman in question).

This scent has just enough sugary-ness to it that it doesn’t choke you up and give you a headache.  Althought it is rich and dark, it is not too overwhelming and it’s not stuffy.  My normally quite whiney (love you, honey!) fiance made not one peep when I sprayed it on sitting less than a foot away from him, and have been wearing it for quite some time.  Usually when I am sampling/doing a review, he has something to say, even in regards to the lightest, most pleasant, cleanest fragrance imaginable.

Again, I must stress that I am usually not a fan of floriental, sophisticated/mature fragrances… but for In Control Curious, there is a definite exception.  Must be the fruity and sweet notes tossed in for good measure, but I can’t say for sure.  I also can’t very adequately describe the fragrance itself to you, unfortunately.  It’s very unique.. which is a good thing, in my book!

I’m quite surprised by this fragrance, and I almost can’t believe that I plan on adding it to my collection.  I’m excited!  I guess this is growing up…

REPORT CARD

(We highly recommend reading our guide to understanding our grading system if you haven’t already)

First sniff (bottle): B

First sniff (skin): B

Worn scent: A

Staying power: A

Scent as compared to note(s): A

Bottle: A+ (one of my absolute favorites! – check out the atomizer version.. so cute!)

Overall: A

Not recommended for those who tend to only enjoy fruity/floral/sweet fragrances, unless you are looking to spice things up a bit and are open minded to a more mature scent with a unique kick to it.  This is a floriental with some nice hints of fruit/sweetness.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

