Scent Addicts – Perfume reviews, fragrance news, & more!


Falling In Love by Philosophy
Falling In Love

Falling In Love

Notes (as listed on sephora.com):  Vanilla, Jasmine, Lily of the Valley, Musk, Blackberry

I have always wanted to try Philosophy products; whenever I see the body lotions and shower/bath gels in the store, I admire them from afar, but I never made the plunge and actually tried any… until I received a Sephora gift card for Christmas, that is.

CLASSIFICATION: fruity/floral, light, sweet

AGE GROUP:  perfect for any age

SIMILAR SCENT(s): N/A

FORM: Eau De Toilette

Before I go any futher, I’d like to let the record be known that I did not actually buy and test the Eau De Toilette, but rather the “romantic spray fragrance”, as Sephora so elegantly calls it.  It is essentially a mini, and I am guessing it is a bit watered down.  At the bargain price of $15, however, I couldn’t go wrong.  Please keep that in mind before reading the rest of my review.

It seems as if everyone in the world has already sampled this fragrance, and from the reviews I’ve read, everyone seems to fall in love with it.  That was somewhat of a surprise to me, since most light, fruity fragrances are not usually a favorite amongst most perfume wearers.  Having said that, I fully expected Falling In Love to be spicy as hell, and not anything like the reviews would lead a person to believe.

I was very pleasantly surprised with this one.  Falling In Love was everything everyone said it would be.  It is a light, subtle fragrance, that smells very similiar to cotton candy (just not quite as sweet!) A floral bouquet is wrapped around the cotton candy, which lessens the sweetness, and helps establish a romantic air to the perfume.

I would personally recommend this fragrance to those that in college or younger, but I noticed when reading reviews that every age group is wild about this scent. Again… major surprise.  This perfume is right up Scent Addict’s alley… and we seem to usually be in the vast minority when it comes to opinions on fragrance.

Even though the scent is so light and whimsical (I believe that is the first time I have ever used that word for anything), the staying power is excellent on my skin… even with the watered down “romantic spray fragrance” concentration.  I sprayed this scent on hours ago, and I can still smell it on my skin.

I felt a bit out of place wearing this perfume in the dead of winter, but I really, really enjoyed it.  I think once the spring rolls around, I will be putting Falling In Love in my heavy rotation, and perhaps even buying a full sized bottle of it.  I fell in love.

REPORT CARD

(We highly recommend reading our guide to understanding our grading system if you haven’t already)

First sniff (bottle):  A

First sniff (skin):  A

Worn scent:  A

Scent as compared to note(s):  A+

Bottle:  B-  (I kind of like the simplicity of the bottle pictured in this post — my mini bottle isn’t quite as attactive, however.  I’d probably rate the mini a D)

Overall: A

I recommend Falling In Love to women of all ages looking for a very light, sweet, and playful fragrance in the spring or summer months.  Plus, at $15 a bottle, it’s always worth a try.  You can grab the mini here.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

