Scent Addicts – Perfume reviews, fragrance news, & more!


Luscious Pink by Mariah Carey

Luscious Pink

Luscious Pink

NOTES (as listed on fragrantica.com and fragrancenet.com): ocean breeze accord, white must, bergamot, bellini, tiare flower, peony, lily of the valley, sandalwood, musk, bright blond woods

CLASSIFICATION: feminine, floral, slightly fruity

AGE GROUP: perfect for any age

SIMILAR SCENT(s): n/a

FORM: eau de parfum

Luscious Pink was something that I looked forward to sampling, but the first time around I didn’t care for it.  I didn’t dislike the scent, but it wasn’t something I cared to take a second whiff of, nor even contemplate adding to my collection.  Similarly to the phenomenon I experienced with UR for Women (by Usher), I gave this fragrance another chance after believing that it simply wasn’t right for me – and I’m quite glad I did!

This is a fabulously feminine perfume, which I love.  It’s also a rich (but not TOO rich – just right) floral with very slight tones of fruitiness every few sniffs.  Contrary to what I was expecting due to my experience with Mariah Carey’s first fragrance, M (you can read my review of that here), this is not a strong fragrance at all.  I normally apply my fragrances very sparingly, so it didn’t surprise me that to continue with this review I had to re-spray, at which point I did so rather liberally.  Much to my surprise, however, I had to re-spray yet again, even more liberally this time, to continue on about it.  I now know that when I wear Luscious Pink, I should pretty much bathe in it!

I’m a bit sore that I never wrote a review of Mediterranean Breeze by Elizabeth Arden, because Luscious Pink is the highly, highly, highly improved version of it (in my opinion).  Unfortunately, I no longer have the other perfume in my collection, and cannot compare where it makes a wrong turn while Luscious Pink stays en route.  Luscious Pink, although I would not classify it as such, is a very clean fragrance.  It’s clean, feminine, and dreamily floral.  The name Luscious Pink suits it very, very well.

I’m not sure if the staying power is just whacked on my skin, or what, but in my experience it has not been good.  Perhaps buying a mini or rollerball to carry with you in your purse when you were this perfume wouldn’t be that bad of an idea.  Reapplication is definitely a necessity for me with this one.

I would wear Luscious Pink anytime, anywhere.  It’s feminine enough to work during the day time, but floral enough to work on an evening date or a special event.  It’s also appropriate during any season, from Summer to Winter.

REPORT CARD

(We highly recommend reading our guide to understanding our grading system if you haven’t already)

First sniff (bottle): B (comes on a bit strong.. boy is that misleading)

First sniff (skin): A

Worn scent: A+

Staying power: C-

Scent as compared to note(s): A

Bottle: A+ (…undeniably cute!)

Overall: A+

Luscious Pink became a quick favorite of mine despite not being a fan at first – sample this away from the fragrance counter to be sure that the sniff you take is not hindered by other nearby perfumes!  This is a very ideal feminine, floral fragrance.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

