Scent Addicts – Perfume reviews, fragrance news, & more!


UR for Women by Usher

UR for Women

UR for Women

NOTES (as listed on fragrancenet.com): white freesia, peach nectar, jasmine, osmanthus, pink peonies, creamy musk, honeysuckle, praline, soft woods

CLASSIFICATION: feminine, slighty floral, slightly fruity

AGE GROUP: college and older

SIMILAR SCENT(s): n/a

FORM: eau de parfum

For whatever reason, I have always had UR for Women in the back of my head whenever I visit my local department store.  I would always spritz a bit on my wrist in passing, but that was only after always having smelled other perfumes there, too.  It must have been this that had always hindered me from purchasing UR for Women in the past, because I finally re-sniffed it yesterday and, yes, bought it.

I have fallen for UR for Women…  hard!  I really love it.  I finally got a good, unadulterated sniff yesterday and since then, we’ve been inseparable.

UR for Women is the much fruitier, more feminine younger sister of Usher for Her, the first perfume from Usher.  While Usher for Her wasn’t for me, I did rate it an A.  It was a nice smell, just a bit strong and less feminine than what I usually prefer.  Cue UR for Women!  While the ever so slightly grape undertones of Usher for Her still remain (although, damned if I know what note it really is that I’m smelling, since grape certainly isn’t listed in either fragrance) in UR for Women, the femininity has been pumped way up, and the intensity has been turned down a notch or two.  This leaves a light (once it’s reached the dry down and has established itself on your skin), floral bouquet with hints of yummy fruits.

Don’t get me wrong – not all fruity/floral/feminine fragrance lovers will enjoy this one.  Take note that UR for Women has a bit of a zing that I just can’t put my finger on.  It’s pretty quirky.  That’s why I was never really sure whether I wanted to add it to my collection or not.. but, luckily, I was able to look past the initial zing and now I couldn’t be happier with my purchase.

As far as lasting power, UR for Women does not disappoint – all day long, all day strong.  I would, however, recommend applying it sparingly until you are aware of the amount that fits your needs.  I don’t even need a full spray on each wrist to satisfy my sense of smell.   In regards to consistency, when first applied, it’s much stronger (as to be expected), so wait it out a bit before you decide you hate it.  Also, UR for Women has a slight edge to it at first, that slowly but surely disappears and leaves you with a “pink and white” scent.

REPORT CARD

(We highly recommend reading our guide to understanding our grading system if you haven’t already)

First sniff (bottle): C

First sniff (skin): B

Worn scent: A

Staying power: A+

Scent as compared to note(s): A-

Bottle: A (Would’ve been an A-plus if it wasn’t such a plain shape.. and what’s up with the horse shoe?  I’m figuring it’s a “U” for Usher, but still.  Oh well – the beautiful iridescence of the bottle makes up for any other undesirable aspects.)

Overall: A

I would recommend this scent to any lover of feminine/floral fragrances, with an appreciation for a bit of fruitiness.  You also have to have lots of patience with this one – but, in my opinion, it’s worth it!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

