Scent Addicts – Perfume reviews, fragrance news, & more!


True Star Gold
True Star Gold

True Star Gold

NOTES (as listed on fragrantica.com): kiwi, red currant, lily, honey, juniper

CLASSIFICATION: citrus

AGE GROUP: college

SIMILAR SCENT(s): Versace Versus Time for Pleasure

FORM: eau de toilette

I’m gonna have to stop going to TJ Maxx without having my SAA (Scent Addicts Anonymous) sponsor with me; everytime I go, I come home with at least two bottles of perfume. This time, though, I was a bit more educated than normal in regards to the scent decision I was going to make. I had made note that they had True Star Gold (by Tommy Hilfiger) in stock, and gone home to research the notes and any reviews that I could get my hands on.

When I read in one review that it smells just like orange juice, I figured it couldn’t be all that bad, right? I pretty much decided to purchase it once I heard that it was a “citrus/fruity” fragrance, since those are my favorites. I went back to TJ Maxx at the next available free moment I had, anxiously hoping that no one else had purchased the one remaining bottle. I couldn’t get there fast enough, and then all of a sudden True Star Gold was mine! I immediately opened it up and sprayed it on.

My first sniff was quite a surprise. Not necessarily a bad surprise, but definitely not a good one, since that would entail this smelling better than expected. However, I was not put off. I waited patiently for the dry down so that I could make an accurate decision. If you’re like me, you prefer a perfume that stays relatively consistent throughout each of the stages that it goes through – and True Star Gold is very impressive in that respect. From first sniff, to first application, to the end of the day, this scent remains the same (or at least did on me).

The scent itself is much, much warmer than I was envisioning, especially when I read about it being a citrusy scent. It definitely is citrusy, but it’s also very rich, and very warm. Although I do generally enjoy citrusy fragrances, this is a bit thicker than I normally prefer. It does smell just like orange juice, although not in the way that I was envisioning. It’s by no means light or airy. While this isn’t a masculine smelling fragrance at all, it’s not the most feminine, either.

I certainly didn’t dislike True Star Gold, but it’s also not a perfume that I can picture myself ever wearing again. It’s not a scent that I cringe away from, but I have so many other citrusy/fruity fragrances that I prefer over it, that I don’t really have a reason to go back to it again.

REPORT CARD

(We highly recommend reading our guide to understanding our grading system if you haven’t already)

First sniff (bottle): C

First sniff (skin): C

Worn scent: B-

Scent as compared to note(s): B-

Bottle: B-

Overall: C

If you are a fan of citrus scents and also enjoy fragrances with a bit of depth to them, this could be the perfect combination for you.  If you generally dislike fragrances on the warmer side, I would recommend sampling this one before making the purchase plunge on it.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I do not smell the citrus at all. It starts out watery and green–reminds me of water lilies– and then ends up with raspberries. It is more complex than I was expecting. I wore it often last Summer for daytime.

Comment by Ravyn




Leave a Reply

