Scent Addicts – Perfume reviews, fragrance news, & more!


Kenneth Cole Black For Her
Kenneth Cole Black For Her

Kenneth Cole Black For Her

NOTES (as listed on fragrantica.com): jasmine, ylang ylang, lily of the valley, magnolia, tuberose, hyacinth, lotus, iris, sandalwood, musk, amber

I was intrigued when I first saw Black at my local TJ Maxx. I had never gave it a second thought, but for some reason when I see bargains there, I simply cannot turn away.

CLASSIFICATION: feminine, floral

AGE GROUP: college / mature

SIMILAR SCENT(s): Marc Jacobs Blush

FORM: eau de parfum

Honestly, just from the bottle and name of this perfume, I assumed it to be a strong, spicy fragrance for the “no nonsense” type of gal. I figured it would be mature, and most likely overwhelming. Upon closer inspection of the bottle, I warmed up to it a bit more. At first I thought it was plain and boring. Perhaps it is, but I actually really like it now. I can appreciate the less is more approach. The simplicity is refreshing, since Kenneth Cole Black For Her did add enough “extras” to the bottle to hold one’s interest (the “bow” on the neck, the handwritten-looking label, etc).

So, once I got past the bottle, I gave it a whiff. Surprisingly, this fragrance was not offensive in the least bit. It was floral and feminine, yet strong. With this perfume, a little goes a long way (at least on me). The femininity of this fragrance is very overwhelming after the initial 15 to 20 minutes, give or take, of wear. It may start out as a bit of a common (not unique) scent, but what it dries down to is the real deal.

The similarity of this perfume to Marc Jacobs Blush is crazy. Both are florals, and both, in my opinion, are more of a singular floral than a bouquet-type. The scent of these two fragrances is strikingly similar, however, Black For Her is a bit more enjoyable, in my opinion, because it dries down to something a slight bit more complex than Blush. I didn’t dislike Blush, but this is definitely the improved, updated version of it.

Black For Her smells like a freshly picked flower, just sat in a vase and placed on a window sill on the hottest of Summer days with a nice, cool breeze flowing through the screen occasionally. It settles as a light scent, although the staying power is rather impressive. Despite being a light scent, and feminine, I would not classify this perfume as a perfect for any age type of thing; I do believe that this scent is a bit too sophisticated for the younger wearer. I’d say college-aged and up would be the most appropriate demographic for this one.

Despite the dark bottle and being called “BLACK” (talk about irony), this is an amazing, girlie, Summery fragrance.

REPORT CARD

(We highly recommend reading our guide to understanding our grading system if you haven’t already)

First sniff (bottle): B

First sniff (skin): B+

Worn scent: B+

Staying power: A

Scent as compared to note(s): A

Bottle: A (it may be quite different from my normally graded-A bottles, but I really dig the simplicity of this bottle, since I feel that it was done right)

Overall: B+

A very pleasant, feminine singular floral for the sophisticated perfume-wearer. Best for Spring/Summer, but I’d probably end up busting it out year-round! While I really enjoy this scent personally, I do feel that it’s not generally a crowd pleaser, so, as with the similarly scented Marc Jacobs Blush, I highly suggest sampling this before buying.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Everything you’ve said is very interesting. I was considering trying this one out, given the reputation that Black for men has. I will go and smell it for myself now. Thanks.

Comment by Kia

I just purchased this today at Ulta and am really liking it!

Comment by Amber

I agree that the floral scent doesn’t match the name “black.” I wouldn’t recommend Black for her because I think it smells cheap like any bottle of body spray you can find at a drug store.

Comment by claire




Leave a Reply

