Scent Addicts – Perfume reviews, fragrance news, & more!


Halloween
Halloween by J. Del Pozo

Halloween by J. Del Pozo

NOTES (as listed on aromaboutique.com): bergamot, jasmine, tuberose, freesia, lime blossom, gardenia, imosa, rose, musk, sandalwood

The name of this perfume alone made me want to try it – Halloween is my favorite holiday and favorite time of year. How awesome would that be if I totally love the perfume?

CLASSIFICATION: floriental

AGE GROUP: mature / slightly college

SIMILAR SCENT(s): can’t quite put my finger on it..

FORM: eau de toilette

I had read very positive reviews of Halloween before sampling it for myself. Most of them included how wonderfully feminine this fragrance was, as well as what an amazing floral scent it is. I had heard that the name of the perfume came about because it was molded after a fragrant flower that blooms on Halloween. How true that may or may not be is unknown to me, but I thought it was an interesting little background on this.

When I first smelled Halloween from the bottle, I was pretty positive that I’d love it. It smelled feminine and exotic to me, and very floral. Once I applied it to my wrist, though, the scent was quite different. The femininity was not as much as I was expecting, however, this isn’t a masculine fragrance by any means. It was very strong, and the only other word that I can think of to describe it would be warm. Although not what I would consider a spicy fragrance, it has that extra little kick. Definitely a true floriental.

While the floral notes still hold their own, the warmness of this fragrance, although definitely not what I would classify as spicy, was almost overwhelming at first. Should I wear this again, it will definitely be extra sparingly (more so than normal). It is this warmth that Halloween has about it that makes me weary of recommending it for any non-sophisticated, or non-Floriental style fragrance lovers. I definitely wouldn’t recommend this scent for any age. I’d say, at minimum, this is a college-aged group (and older) perfume, but hey, maybe you could make it work at a younger age and prove me wrong!

This fragrance is definitely something that I would recommend for evening wear. While it wouldn’t exactly be out of place if worn during the daytime, I just think it would be a much better fit for a night on the town or an elegant special event. Despite that, to me, this fragrance is a good fit for all seasons – Winter, Summer, and everything in between.

REPORT CARD

(We highly recommend reading our guide to understanding our grading system if you haven’t already)

First sniff (bottle): B

First sniff (skin): B

Worn scent: B-

Staying power: A-

Scent as compared to note(s): B

Bottle: A-

Overall: B

While I personally am not a huge fan of Floriental fragrances, nor do I really wear them, to me, Halloween was a very pleasant one. I’d recommend it to anyone looking for a fragrance of this type!

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I started wearing Halloween at 20 and loved it. I got a sample in a magazine years ago (am spanish, so got it as soon as was out) and I fell in love with it. I bought it for 10 years non stop. My friends remember me when they smell it in someone else. But the funniest thing is I don’t think its warm at all, I think is very crispy and my graany said it was nice but “bitter”, now how do you apply that to an smell, no idea. I adore this perfume. It is the only one I stuck with, as I like to change a lot!

Comment by Amaia




Leave a Reply

