Scent Addicts – Perfume reviews, fragrance news, & more!


Ralph Lauren Notorious
Notorious by Ralph Lauren

Notorious by Ralph Lauren

NOTES: black currant, pink peppercorn, bergamot, chocolate cosmos, white frost peonies, carnation, patchouli musk, vanilla, iris

Being completely honest here, I would not under any circumstance sample this perfume when I was at the mall on a random outing. Everything about this fragrance points to fragrance that I do not like. However, as it is featured in September’s edition of Glamour magazine, I decided to give it a try, because hey… you just never know.

CLASSIFICATION: Floriental, slightly spicy, slightly sweet

AGE GROUP: Mature

SIMILAR SCENT(s): N/A

FORM: Eau de Parfum

Let me just say, I have never smelled a more consistent fragrance in my entire life. From initial spray, to the moment hours later when I was desperately scrubbing my wrist, this scent smelled exactly the same. Not one note presented itself differently to my sensitive nose from the first application to way after the dry down. I wish Escada fragrances were like this, let me tell you!

The fragrance is a classic Floriental, with a bit of spice. Up close and personal, a bit of a powdery cocoa scent can be detected. The earthy aroma of the patchouli isn’t really as bad as can be expected; where I did end up washing this fragrance off a few hours after application, I wasn’t attempting to sever my arms off with a hacksaw. And that’s a good thing, because frankly… that’s what I was expecting. I even sterilized said hacksaw just in case.

As I am a fan of perfumes that are girly and fruity, this perfume did strike me as mysterious, which is what I believe Ralph Lauren is going for. I have absolutely no problem imagining a 1940’s actress wearing this perfume; I think everything about the marketing was on target, from the description to the actual photo ad.

Advertisement

Advertisement

Please do not get me wrong – this fragrance wasn’t horrible (the hacksaw comments were a joke!), but this perfume could not be less my style if it tried. However, I think it is very wearable, and possibly even pleasant for what it is. I think many women that were intrigued by the advertisement are going to be very happy with this fragrance, as Ralph Lauren definitely did not market this scent as something that it wasn’t.

REPORT CARD

(We highly recommend reading our guide to understanding our grading system if you haven’t already)

First sniff (bottle): C

First sniff (skin): C

Worn scent: C

Scent as compared to note(s): B

Bottle: C

Overall: C

To me, Notorious is just your typical floriental. I admit I am not one that should be judging so harshly, though! I do think it will be a favorite for women looking for a classy, mysterious fragrance suitable for evening wear during the fall and winter months.

7 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I’m not having any luck finding where I can buy Lauren’s “Notorious” in Dallas. Anybody kmow?

Comment by Susanne Johnson

Currently (through August, I’d heard), Notorious is only available at Bloomingdale’s. You can order it online if you don’t have a local store.

http://www.bloomingdales.com

I’d recommend picking up the September issue of Glamour to sample it before making the online purchase plunge, though!

Comment by scentaddicts

The.Best.Scent.EVER.

Comment by Sarah

Notorious is also available at Dillard’s stores everywhere.

Comment by Lori

I bought my bottle today at Macy’s… I’m not very good at describing all the technical details of perfumes… but I call this one subtle and mildly spicy… sensual but still classy and appropriate for work. I hope it makes a nice man want to get cozy with me… kinda has that effect for me!

Comment by Kelly

I really enjoy the scent and can see wearing it everyday. I agree that it lasts and stays true all day. It is not super exotic but kind of a spicy, come closer, comfy feel. Not for the light and fruity loving types but if you like darker scent, it’s great.

Comment by Melissa

I agree it does have a spicy darker scent, though kinda strong like a mans cologne or fragrnce

Comment by margie luna




Leave a Reply

