Scent Addicts – Perfume reviews, fragrance news, & more!


Viktor & Rolf Flowerbomb
Flowerbomb by Viktor & Rolf

Flowerbomb by Viktor & Rolf

NOTES: Tea, Bergamot, Sambac Jasmine, Cattleya Orchid, Freesia, Centifolia Rose, Musks, Patchouli

Flowerbomb may just be THE most popular fragrance of the decade, and for no other reason, I decided I would try it. I have seen it described as a chiefly gourmand scent, while others classify it as a “pink” floral, yet some others say it is a modern floriental. I had absolutely no expectations, so no matter what I thought of it, I was not to be disappointed.

CLASSIFICATION: Floriental, gourmand, sweet

AGE GROUP: Mature / Perfect for any age

SIMILAR SCENT(s): N/A

FORM: Eau de Parfum

Let’s just say I classified it as a … bit of everything. Flowerbomb is a complex fragrance, which is kind of unusual, and a pleasant surprise. Let’s face it – this juice is expensive, and if I am going to pay as much as I did for a mini, I want to feel as if I paid for something that is worth the money. Flowerbomb simply smells expensive.

I was not impressed smelling Flowerbomb out of the bottle at all. I smelled a spicy floral, and nothing more. At first whiff, I was intensely disappointed even despite my vow not to be. Yet I couldn’t help it… out of the bottle, and on paper, it smelled like every other Floriental fragrance I have ever sampled. I just couldn’t understand what the hype was about…

…Until I tried it on skin. I was not about to give up so easily after spending as much as I did, afterall (and yes, it’s always about money). I was pleasantly surprised. Flowerbomb is sweet. Very sweet. The immediate opening smells of a very refreshing tea, with sugar and a hint of flowers.

After the dry down, the scent does become gourmand, smelling of a of vanilla and patchouli. It is smooth and very calm. Very wearable. Although I was not a fan of Pink Sugar by Aquolina, I am vaguely reminded of it, although I do feel that Flowerbomb is a major improvement.

The lasting power is excellent, and after the initial dry down, the fragrance remains extremely consistent. Never on skin does it smell as it does from the bottle, on me.

REPORT CARD

(We highly recommend reading our guide to understanding our grading system if you haven’t already)

First sniff (bottle): C-

First sniff (skin): B

Worn scent: B

Scent as compared to note(s): B

Bottle: B

Overall: B

Recommended for the floriental fan who is looking for sugar and spice, and everything nice. Flowerbomb is a very wearable, classy fragrance that is suitable for women of all ages, and perfect for any occasion.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Flowerbomb somehow reminds me if a scent from years ago which just happened to be a male fragrance called Lagerfeld. When I first smelled Flowerbomb it was at a cash register at Nordstroms in wommen’s shoes, and I suspected a pretty young girl nearby and asked her if she might be wearing that beautiful and intoxicating scent which filled the air and she lit up and told me what it was and where to find it.Smelling it out of the bottle wasn’t necessary. I bought it. A similar thing happened on a dance floor with a gentleman wearing Lagerfeld years ago now. That’s my story.

Comment by Linda Lee

Can this scent be worn by men? Is it Unisex?

Comment by Efrain




Leave a Reply

