Scent Addicts – Perfume reviews, fragrance news, & more!


Tommy Hilfiger Tommy Girl Jeans
Tommy Girl Jeans by Tommy Hilfiger

Tommy Girl Jeans by Tommy Hilfiger

NOTES: mandarin, grapefruit, bitter orange, oceanic, herbaceous, chipotle woods

My great-Aunt bought the original Tommy Girl perfume for me not long after its debut in 1996. Although I liked it, and wore it from time to time, I never loved it. However, when shopping for perfumes last weekend, I happened upon a tester and sprayed it, and I find that I like it now much better than I did twelve years ago. As soon as I saw Tommy Girl Jeans for a super low price online, I decided to take the plunge, as it claims to be a fruiter version of the original.

CLASSIFICATION: Oriental/Spicy

AGE GROUP: College/Mature

SIMILAR SCENT(s): N/A

FORM: Cologne Spray

Disappointment of the week, for sure. At first spray (which is more like a blast from a garden hose on a hot summer day), Tommy Girl Jeans is black licorice. That’s it. Just black licorice. I felt like I had rubbed Black Jack chewing gum over my wrist after wetting it with saliva.

Luckily, probably because of the concentration of this perfume (Cologne spray), the dry down is relatively quick. The licorice smell began to fade (although it doesn’t take much imagination to smell it now, hours after initial application), and I began to detect a more pleasing oriental/spicy note. Keep in mind, I do not like oriental or spicy perfumes, but I do prefer them over the smell of black licorice. Very very faintly, I was able to detect the smell of Tommy Girl original.

A fruitier version of Tommy Girl? NO. A more mature, spicier version of Tommy Girl? YES. Make no mistake here, folks – this is not a fruity perfume at all.

The lasting power, which again is due to the concentration, is not the best. It is better than I expected it to be, though; it is still lingering after well over two hours. The scent has not changed much since the initial dry down, so it is consistent.

Undoubtedly, I will be returning this perfume. I may sample other limited edition fragrances in the Tommy line, although now I am quite scared. I think in this case, for me, it is best to just stick to the original.

REPORT CARD

(We highly recommend reading our guide to understanding our grading system if you haven’t already)

First sniff (bottle): C-

First sniff (skin): C-

Worn scent: C

Scent as compared to note(s): D (licorice?)

Bottle: C

Overall: C-

Recommended for those looking for a more mature, spicier version of the original Tommy Girl fragrance. Please don’t get me wrong! – it is not bad for what it is, just not what I was expecting. Again, the internet failed me.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

