Scent Addicts – Perfume reviews, fragrance news, & more!


Salvatore Ferragamo Incanto Charms

NOTES (as listed on sephora.com): honeysuckle, passion fruit, jasmine, ottoman rose, amyris wood, musk

Incanto Charms

Incanto Charms

Incanto Dream is one of my top five favorite fragrances, Jax had some pretty positive feedback on Incanto Shine, and neither of us thought that Incanto Heaven was terrible. So of course, I naturally wanted to try Incanto Charms.

CLASSIFICATION: Spicy, every so slightly fruity

AGE GROUP: college / mature

SIMILAR SCENT(s): n/a

FORM: eau de toilette

When I first smelled Incanto Charms, I indeed got the apple juice vibe that I get from Incanto Heaven, but it was accompanied by a little something extra. At first, I thought that I was really going to love Incanto Charms, because it had the “kick” in it that I feel as though Incanto Heaven was lacking. I waited to actually spray it on, since there were other perfumes I wanted to sink my teeth into, but I was sure that this one was going to be a hit.

Upon reading the notes of Incanto Charms and checking out several online reviews that I found, I was pretty confident in sampling this. I even thought I may consider adding it to my heavy rotation, if it was all that it was cracked up to be. Some of the words and phrases that stuck out at me from actual reviews that I read include: the most beautiful smelling perfume in existence, very fresh and fruity, fresh as a breath of spring air. In addition, one of the review sites that I went to had six reviewers who wrote their thoughts on Incanto Charms, and all six reviewers rated the perfume 5 out of 5 stars. I was quite impressed!

Let’s just say that the reviews didn’t do as accurate a job as I assumed they did, at describing Incanto Charms. While I appreciate their time and I’m very glad that they enjoyed this fragrance to the degree that they did – unfortunately, I did not enjoy it to the same extent. Reading their reviews again after sampling this scent only reiterates this for me, sadly.

This fragrance, to me, is like a combination of apple juice and spicy, yet unrecognizable, notes. While there definitely is a bit of a fruity ting to it, it’s not enough, or perhaps is just so overpowered by the spiciness, to be classified solely as fruity in my opinion. If you’re more of a fruity gal than a spicy gal, this one most likely is not for you.

I don’t necessarily think that it smells bad, or particularly dislike it, but I have had an interesting experience consisting of mixed feelings towards Incanto Charms. First sniff – really liked it. Second sniff – absolutely hated it and thought it smelled just like Dolly Girl On The Beach (you can read that review here). First application on skin – terrible, couldn’t stand it. Second application on skin – eh, it ain’t bad. I’m still not 100% sure where I stand with this one, other than that it is not something that I would be interested in adding to my heavy rotation (damn shame, too, cause I really love this bottle!) or even wearing semi-often.

The first smell of it on my skin just smelled like strong rubbing alcohol (no problem, I was patient and waited for it to sink into my skin). The next smell of it on my skin was a slight fruitiness, but not really a sweet one; it was a dull mixed fruit scent with the main component being apple. And the last smell on my skin is a random, general spiciness, which is what the fragrance remains as until it is washed off or fades away on it’s own.

As a spicy scent, I cannot really judge it fairly as that is probably my least favorite fragrance classification. I do, however, find it much more tolerable on myself than I normally find spicy perfumes, so that’s a good sign. The fruity opening and heart of Incanto Charms also help an otherwise self-proclaimed spicy fragrance hater (which I’m currently seeing a therapist to try and work through) to be a little more accepting of it.

REPORT CARD

(We highly recommend reading our guide to understanding our grading system if you haven’t already)

First sniff (bottle): C (liked it once, hated it the other time)

First sniff (skin): C (liked it once, hated it the other time)

Worn scent: C-

Scent as compared to note(s): C (although the fruity and/or floral notes outnumber the others, they are very overpowered)

Bottle: A++ (love these damn Incanto bottles)

Overall: C-

Not my personal favorite, and not really my type of fragrance, but it’s not bad.  I do not recommend this to you if you’re looking for a fruity or even overly feminine fragrance, however, if you usually enjoy spicy scents and are perhaps interested in a bit of a fruity accent, Incanto Charms has your name written all over it!

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

[…] Click here to read my review of Incanto Charms! No Comments so far Leave a comment RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI Leave a comment Line and paragraph breaks automatic, e-mail address never displayed, HTML allowed: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong> […]

Pingback by Benghal « Scent Addicts - Perfume reviews, fragrance news, & more!

[…] sweet, less spicy love child of Incanto Charms and Benghal (those reviews of mine can be read here and here).  I wouldn’t call Dior Addict 2 spicy, but it’s fruitiness is not strong […]

Pingback by Dior Addict 2 « Scent Addicts - Perfume reviews, fragrance news, & more!

Couldn’t have captured it better:-

“This fragrance, to me, is like a combination of apple juice and spicy, yet unrecognizable, notes. While there definitely is a bit of a fruity ting to it, it’s not enough, or perhaps is just so overpowered by the spiciness,…”

Unrecognizable spicy notes, very true.

Comment by MunMun




Leave a Reply

