Scent Addicts – Perfume reviews, fragrance news, & more!


Cool Water Summer Fizz for Women
Cool Water Summer Fizz

Cool Water Summer Fizz

NOTES (as listed on fragrantica.com): bergamot, juicy peach, honeysuckle, lemon, fresh mint, white musk, sandalwood

I am usually interested in limited edition summer fragrances; I have been pleased by many that I have smelled (most often by those from Escada and Ghost). I was very excited to try Summer Fizz.

CLASSIFICATION: citrusy

AGE GROUP: young / perfect for any age

SIMILAR SCENT(s): n/a

FORM: eau de toilette

As stated in my previous review(s), usually I love “summer” fragrances. Upon discovering that Cool Water comes out with Summer fragrances each year, I was very anxious to try this one – Summer Fizz. The name interested me, and I was expecting a scent consistent of a combination of orange soda, grape soda, maybe some lemonade, and a few other fun Summery scents. Then I read the notes. Okay, so it was nothing like I was planning for it to be – but it stilled seemed to have potential. So I decided to give it a shot.

It’s a cute enough name, isn’t it? Unfortunately, the fragrance contained within the relatively plain bottle is not quite as “cute,” to say the least. Sure, I guess it does live up to it’s citrusy, fizzy name. But that’s, like… all it does. This is not a scent that I would have normally given a second thought to, but I have still (foolishly) not learned my lesson when it comes to purchasing fragrances without first smelling a tester or otherwise sampling them somehow. Let my loss be your gain! Potential Summer Fizz buyers, take note.

Although this is a perfume for women (well, the one that I’m reviewing – it is indeed also available in a version for men), taking a whiff from the bottle/nozzle, it really seems more like a Summer cologne for men. This is definitely a result of the only two discernible notes in this fragrance – lemon and mint. Mental note: I hate mint-scented fragrances. Well, at least I do now. I never really had an opinion on them before. To be perfectly honest, Summer Fizz, in my opinion, smells like the following: lemon dishwasher detergent (powder form), some sort of peppermint patty, cheap laundry detergent, Lysol. While any of these scents on their own is not displeasing in the least bit, none of them are conventionally used as notes in fragrances. In addition, when thrown together in a blender, the end result isn’t all that savory.

I really, really wanted to like this fragrance. I honestly made myself think that I liked it much more than I really did, between wearing it for the day and then re-smelling it again while typing this review, which in turn changed the whole tone of it. I really do try hard to be relatively constructive with my reviews and criticisms, but Summer Fizz, surprisingly, is really testing that ability of mine.

At best, when worn on my wrist, at least, Summer Fizz is a mediocre version of CK One with mint and lemon thrown in just for gits and shiggles.

REPORT CARD

(We highly recommend reading our guide to understanding our grading system if you haven’t already)

First sniff (bottle): D

First sniff (skin): D

Worn scent: C-

Staying power: A-

Scent as compared to note(s): C (all I can smell is mint and lemon.. where did the other notes go?)

Bottle: C-

Overall: C– (yeah, that’s two minus signs – not quite bad enough to warrant a D+)

If you absolutely love citrus fragrances and don’t mind a minty scent, I’d recommend sampling Summer Fizz. However, in my opinion, this is a definite try before you buy scent.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

