Scent Addicts – Perfume reviews, fragrance news, & more!


Usher For Women by Usher
Usher for Women

Usher for Women

NOTES (as listed on fragrancenet.com): pink freesia, red currant, frangipani, apple blossom, jasmine, apricot, amber, rose, musk, wood, incense, cashmere wood

While this is not usually my “type,” I happily added a sample of Usher to my latest perfume order to give it a try, fair and square. I went in with a very open mind and I was pleasantly surprised!

CLASSIFICATION: woodsy

AGE GROUP: college

SIMILAR SCENT(s): n/a

FORM: eau de parfum

Let’s face it – I’m a fruity/floral girl. I fully admit it. But that doesn’t mean that I would judge any other type of perfume harshly. I had previously read about Usher perfume containing “voluptuous” florals amongst the woody notes that it was more so known for, and was a bit intrigued with the combo. I had done the nozzle-sniff sampling of it at the mall and it never appealed to me enough to make it to the paper-spray sampling, and definitely not the skin-spray one!

However, finishing up my online order of fragrances, I figured I’d add it on to spice up (no pun intended) our reviews here. I’m very glad that I did!

I really was pleasantly surprised by the scent of Usher. Although it does start out a bit harsh for my taste, what it finally settled into was a rather enjoyable, relaxed fragrance for me. One thing that I must make note of immediately is this “voluptuous” florals business – personally, I did not get one single sniff of a floral out of this perfume. On the other hand, I was very happy to have inhaled a bit of what I interpreted as a fruity note! Don’t get me wrong – this is by no means a fruity fragrance, and I wouldn’t expect the note to really jump out to a lot of people the way that it did to me, but it was there.

For me, Usher was like a woody version of very, very, very watered down grape Kool Aid, minus the sugar. Please keep in mind that “minus the sugar” part, because this differentiates the fragrance from being a sweet fruity one to being a duller (this is not a bad thing), more relaxed woodsy one. When I first sniffed this on myself, it was so strong that I automatically felt that it was too masculine of a scent for a woman to wear, however, once it “relaxed” I found myself smelling my wrist more than necessary just to get the review done. I was actually really starting to enjoy the smell!

REPORT CARD

(We highly recommend reading our guide to understanding our grading system if you haven’t already)

First sniff (bottle): C

First sniff (skin): D

Worn scent: A-

Staying power: A+

Scent as compared to note(s): B

Bottle: F (ugh, just ugh)

Overall: A-

While my heart still (and will probably always) belongs to fruity noted fragrances, I can honestly say that I enjoyed wearing Usher and that I would recommend it to anyone looking for a mellow woodsy scent. Should my tastes ever change drastically enough to wear woody perfumes, this would be my first purchase in that category!

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I was surprised after smelling this in a magazine, it was catching and sweet, and I too gravitate towards fruity scents- this was different, but likable.

When I bought the actual fragrance, however, I was nervous. It smelled like a man’s cologne when I sprayed it….. then, after a few minutes, it settled in. Within 1/2 hour I smelled like the yummy page in the magazine. I sniffed my arm a few times to see if the scent was still there and it lasted through dinner and a local baseball game. I loved the lasting power and notes in this. It may seem musky- but give this a try. It is clean and sweet and long lasting.

Comment by Ramsam

Thanks for sharing your thoughts, Ramsam! Please feel free to let us know your thoughts on any other perfumes that we review – we’d love to hear them. 🙂 And that goes for all of our readers! (from Rebecca)

Comment by scentaddicts




Leave a Reply

