Scent Addicts – Perfume reviews, fragrance news, & more!


M by Mariah Carey
M by Mariah Carey

M by Mariah Carey

NOTES (as listed on fragrancenet.com): tahitian tiare, gardenia, amber, marshmallow, sea breeze accord, patchouli, moroccan incense

I know full well that M by Mariah Carey is not my fragrance style by any means, but I wanted to try it open-mindedly, just to see what I’m missing. At the fragrance counter, I sprayed it once, not even generously, on just one of my wrists, then went home. As soon as my fiance came upstairs to greet me, he exclaimed “What did you just spray? YOU SPRAYED WAY TOO MUCH PERFUME!”

CLASSIFICATION: floriental (floral oriental)

AGE GROUP: college / mature

SIMILAR SCENT(s): n/a

FORM: eau de parfum

I came across the tester bottle for M, sitting lonely atop the fragrance counter. I decided to refresh my memory as to what this scent was all about, and sprayed a sample card. After I let it settle a bit, I took a whiff; it wasn’t as bad as I thought (not that I expected it to be bad for it’s classification – I just tend not to like florientals). I decided, after a bit of contemplation, to give it a whirl on my wrist. I happily spritzed myself, careful not to over-do it should I end up absolutely hating it. I only sprayed one wrist, left it alone to settle for a few minutes, and went on my merry way.

I live only a few minutes from where I was at. Once I got home, M had finally “sunken in.” Honestly, it was a bit much to me at first. A relatively overwhelming scent (to me), it was hard to get a good sniff without needing to take a breath of fresh air. It’s a very thick, rich scent. As quickly mentioned in the snippet above, my fiance was less than thrilled at my aroma while I was wearing this. It was just a bit much.

Although I wouldn’t particularly call this a gourmand scent (I had assumed it would be, having not heard many of the notes until now), the marshmallow note is definitely evident, at least to my nose. However, so is the incense note – big time – almost making it a spicy fragrance. To me, any of the notes besides those two are pretty much undetectable.

After about 20 more minutes, finally the scent was sniff-able without coughing. What it finally dried down to was not unpleasant, just not my cup of tea. If a friend of mine wore this scent, and it was her style, I would probably really enjoy it on her – it’s just something that I cannot envision myself wearing beyond a sampling for a review.

If you’re going to wear M by Mariah Carey, be sure you know exactly how much to apply to meet your scent needs; even applying quite sparingly, I applied too much and it could have really ruined the experience for me had I not had the patience to just wait it out (which I may not have, had I not cared about writing a review). Once it dries down, at first I thought it was fading rather quickly, however, it lasted me until I went to bed.

REPORT CARD

(We highly recommend reading our guide to understanding our grading system if you haven’t already)

First sniff (bottle): C

First sniff (skin): D

Worn scent: B-

Staying power: C

Scent as compared to note(s): B

Bottle: A

Overall: C+

M by Mariah Carey is not a good fit for me, and is a very strong fragrance at first. I would only recommend this one to a tried and true fan of floriental fragrances. It dries down to a pleasant smell but for the first hour, it can really creep up on you as an abrasive scent.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

[…] due to my experience with Mariah Carey’s first fragrance, M (you can read my review of that here), this is not a strong fragrance at all.  I normally apply my fragrances very sparingly, so it […]

Pingback by Luscious Pink by Mariah Carey « Scent Addicts - Perfume reviews, fragrance news, & more!




Leave a Reply

