Scent Addicts – Perfume reviews, fragrance news, & more!


Gala de Dia
July 25, 2008, 12:18 am
Filed under: Perfume reviews | Tags: , , , , , , , ,
Gala de Dia

Gala de Dia

NOTES (as listed on 99perfume.com): water peach, bamboo, cedar, amber, yellow rose

I added this to my “cart” right before check-out on my favorite online perfume retailer. ‘Twas quite a waste of $0.89, if I do say so myself.

CLASSIFICATION: unique, earthy

AGE GROUP: mature

SIMILAR SCENT(s): Sun Water

FORM: eau de toilette

I could try to make this review as lengthy and informative as possible, using as many scent-adjectives as possible; that would just make this perfume review an even bigger waste of time for both of us than it was for me to even sample this unsavory spritzer.

Okay, all joking aside – I really can’t say too much because this perfume was such a turn off for me that I can’t even bring to mind constructive ways to explain how it just did not suit my fragrance needs. In a nutshell, this scent, like many that I have sampled within recent days, had a peppery edge to it that I personally did not care for.

From the card that accompanied the sample vial:

A natural fragrance with a daytime freshness. Unique, young, and enveloping, with a distinctive feminine note. Gala de Dia is fresh, sophisticated, exclusive and very long-lasting.

From the sampling of this fragrance, I have realized that any perfume that describes itself as “natural,” is something that I should approach with extreme caution. I suppose you could say that it’s a bit of a greeny-plant-floral type of concoction. I didn’t really get the freshness vibe from this one, but perhaps that could be accredited to the shower that I skipped for the last three days in a row (ha.. ha.. kidding). But in all seriousness, I don’t feel that this is a fresh fragrance. I also absolutely 100% would not, under any circumstances describe this as a young fragrance – so buyer beware if you read the same thing that I did and figured it would be worth a shot. Lastly, feminine is also not a word that I would use to describe this.

They certainly got right that this is a unique scent. I can’t compare it to any other “everyday” smell, and the only fragrances that it reminds me of are those that I have categorized as “unique.” One more time, to sum it up: this fragrance is not: fresh, young, or feminine.

REPORT CARD

(We highly recommend reading our guide to understanding our grading system if you haven’t already)

First sniff (bottle): C-

First sniff (skin): F+

Worn scent: D-

Staying power: A-

Scent as compared to note(s): C-

Bottle: D+

Overall: D-

If you enjoy any sort of pepper note in your fragrance, or green florals, this may be something that you would like, but please approach with caution!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

