Scent Addicts – Perfume reviews, fragrance news, & more!


Escada Into The Blue
Escada Into The Blue

Escada Into The Blue

NOTES (as listed on sephora.com): crumpled green leaves, fresh herbs, tagette, star fruit, peony, aquatic floral notes, water fruits, white cedar wood, musky cocktail, amber notes, wet woods

Escada and I usually get along pretty well, for the most part, so I wasn’t worried when I began to investigate the sample of Into The Blue that I had received. The scariest part of my experience was how powerful the spray was on the sample-sized vial.

CLASSIFICATION: slightly clean, slightly feminine

AGE GROUP: college / mature

SIMILAR SCENT(s): slightly reminiscent of Flower Princess (minus the flowery scent)

FORM: eau de parfum

In general, I love testing Escada perfumes. The biggest reason is because most of them, although tiny vials, are a spray-on application, rather than the normal DIP N’ GO tester, or, my personal favorite, the SPILL AND PRAY. From these [spray] testers, I feel that I get the most accurate sampling experience; perhaps that’s why I usually am pleased with what I smell from the Escada line (although, there are exceptions – COMING SOON! Escada Sport Country Weekend).

I wasn’t quite sure what to expect from this scent, as I hadn’t read the notes prior to applying it, but I was still expecting it to be decent. I wasn’t disappointed, and perhaps could even say that I was pleasantly surprised. While this scent isn’t something that I enjoy enough to want to add it to my collection, it was by no means bad. I have a feeling that no one else will ever relate these two scents, but to me, Escada Into The Blue reminded me a bit of Flower Princess, minus the flower. This isn’t a floral fragrance, but other than that obvious difference, this just rang a bell to me and I realized that bell was Flower Princess. I get the same odd buttery/toffee type scent from Into The Blue. Call me crazy! I even went so far as to wear Into The Blue on my wrist, and Flower Princess on the inner bend of my elbow, and compared them that way.

Into The Blue is a clean (but not what I would consider “fresh”) fragrance. The watery notes are definitely noticed, but this isn’t an extremely “marine” scent, in my opinion (in addition, compared to other watery/marine scents, such as Ralph Lauren Blue, this scent is much “cooler”). Unfortunately, there’s not much else to say about it. It’s simple – which is nice. A very nice summery scent.

A side note, for anyone reading the notes and perhaps being worried in regards to: crumpled green leaves, fresh herbs, musky cocktail, and/or wet woods: these notes are not evident in this fragrance, or at least they weren’t when I wore it. If you are a regular visitor to Scent Addicts, you may already know that I am generally not a fan of “green”/earthy fragrances – this did not rub me the wrong way in that aspect. Fresh herbs is a new note for me as I have never seen this listed in any scents I have sampled before. Not being a fan of peppery scents, this would have made me quite skeptical of Into The Blue, but I don’t get any hint of “fresh herbs” out of this one. As far as the musky cocktail and wet woods, neither of those stand out in this fragrance to me. Escada scents sometimes have a bad habit of turning very musky once their lovely top notes fade out, but worry not – this did not happen with Into The Blue.

REPORT CARD

(We highly recommend reading our guide to understanding our grading system if you haven’t already)

First sniff (bottle): C

First sniff (skin): B-

Worn scent: C+

Staying power: B-

Scent as compared to note(s): B

Bottle: C

Overall: C+

A good clean, summery scent. This is non-offensive and doesn’t go on harsh at all. Don’t let some of the unusual or generally abrasive notes fool you – this scent is light and pleasant. A good addition to your collection if you’re looking for a more “cool” floral scent.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

