Scent Addicts – Perfume reviews, fragrance news, & more!


Aquolina Pink Sugar
Aquolina Pink Sugar

Aquolina Pink Sugar

NOTES (as listed on sephora.com): Bergamot, Sicilian Orange, Raspberry, Fig Leaves, Lily of the Valley, Licorice, Strawberry, Red Fruit, Cotton Candy, Vanilla, Caramel, Musk, Wood, Powder.

Upon the discovery that there are gourmand fragrances that appeal to me (i.e. Hilary Duff’s Wrapped With Love, 2008), I decided to purchase a sample vial of Aquolina’s Pink Sugar with my last fragrancenet.com shipment. I was counting on hating this fragrance, and let’s just say that I was definitely not disappointed.

CLASSIFICATION: Candy. Baked goods.

AGE GROUP: Teen or younger

SIMILAR SCENT(s): N/A

FORM: Eau de Toilette

Honestly, I just don’t get it. Sephora.com claims this is an Oriental fragrance, that is playful, mischievous, and romantic. I couldn’t see anyone older than eighteen wearing this scent and enjoying it.

Both in the vial and on the skin, Pink Sugar smells that a confection high in calories that you would buy from an old-fashioned candy store. Despite the long list of notes, I smell only vanilla, caramel, and licorice. While the scent isn’t bad in terms of something I’d want to put into my mouth, it’s definitely not desirable for me to wear on my skin.

I am also not sure why this fragrance is classified as Oriental. When I think of Oriental fragrances, I envision a scent with musks, woods, and exotic notes, not a sugary scent that is aimed at a young age group, and marketed as such.

On a positive note, Pink Sugar is both long-lasting and consistent. From first application to a couple hours later, I still smell the same fragrance that I originally sampled, and it hasn’t faded at all.  I’ve heard that a lot of people smell a “burnt” smell after the dry down, but I didn’t notice anything… those same reviewers thought that Pink Sugar smelled like cotton candy, which I also do not agree with.

REPORT CARD

(We highly recommend reading our guide to understanding our grading system if you haven’t already)

First sniff (bottle): D

First sniff (skin): D

Worn scent: D

Staying power: A

Scent as compared to note(s): B-

Bottle: C-

Overall: D

Pink Sugar is suitable for the younger crowd that prefers a very heavy, distinctive gourmand fragrance. If that is your style, I trust that you will really find joy in this scent. If you do not like gourmand perfumes (Fantasy, Wrapped With Love, Nina, to name a few) at all, stay away, as you will most positively hate it.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

