Scent Addicts – Perfume reviews, fragrance news, & more!


Marc Jacobs Blush
Marc Jacobs Blush

Marc Jacobs Blush

NOTES (as listed on fragrancenet.com): orange flower, honeysuckle, sandalwood, nectar, musk, freesia, and wood

It took a lot of concentration to spray Blush on myself without having a pre-disposed opinion of it; I had previously tested another [more popular] Marc Jacobs fragrance (Daisy) and was less than thrilled with the results.

CLASSIFICATION: singular floral

AGE GROUP: college / [more so] mature

SIMILAR SCENT(s): n/a

FORM: eau de parfum

I feel as though I kept a pretty “clean slate” when experiencing Marc Jacobs Blush for the first time, having had such a bad experience with one of his other scents, Daisy (you can read our reviews of Daisy by clicking here). I kept an open mind and tried to forget my thoughts on Daisy as I inhaled Blush deeply. Upon first spray, Blush was not as pleasing as Daisy, however, Blush did not turn as quickly as Daisy into something completely different – so that’s one point for Blush. The scent smells the same from the bottle, throughout the first spray and sniff on the skin, and while sinking in and throughout the rest of the day. While I do enjoy me some consistency, that certainly did add to the simplicity of this perfume.

Some perfumes are best described as simplistic, and it isn’t insulting to the perfume, but I do believe that “simple” was not what Marc Jacobs was going for when he developed Blush. Still, it’s not necessarily a bad thing. This perfume is, as per the sample card that it came with, “the most luxurious interpretation of the celebrated jasmine flower.” While it does include other notes, of course, this is definitely a singular floral, meaning you really only get one scent from it, instead of a combined “bouquet” effect. Not a bad thing, mind you.

While I previously thought that I was a fan, or at worst indifferent of the scent of jasmine, I quickly learned that it is simply not the scent for me. It is not an offensive or harsh scent, and I don’t necessarily dislike it, but I tend to lean towards non-singular, younger florals when choosing a flowery perfume. This is definitely a more sophisticated fragrance. The scent is not unpleasant, just a somewhat acquired taste for some, I’d say. I’m not sure if it’s just my nose, but to me, this is a sort of sour smelling flowery scent. It’s definitely very true to the flower itself, and the only thing that comes to mind when smelling it is picking a flower and taking a large whiff of it’s center.

Blush’s consistency is magnifique! However, it’s staying power is relatively unimpressive, especially when compared to Daisy. It was worn off within about one to two hours, and even before it was completely worn away, it had faded greatly in a fairly quick amount of time.

REPORT CARD

(We highly recommend reading our guide to understanding our grading system if you haven’t already)

First sniff (bottle): B-

First sniff (skin): C+

Worn scent: C+

Staying power: C-

Scent as compared to note(s): B- (no jasmine? however – I smell honeysuckle BIG TIME in this one)

Bottle: D

Overall: C

A less offensive sister of Daisy, I wouldn’t wear this fragrance personally; it is non-offensive and relatively pleasant, though, if you are a fan of single floral scents. I’d definitely recommend sampling this one before buying, however.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

