Scent Addicts – Perfume reviews, fragrance news, & more!


LIZSPORT by Liz Claiborne
July 23, 2008, 11:17 pm
Filed under: Perfume reviews
LIZSPORT by Liz Claiborne

LIZSPORT by Liz Claiborne

NOTES (as listed on fragrancenet.com): green florals, ivy, mandarin, wood, moss, cedar and white musk

Reading other reviews of this fragrance caused me to believe that this was an exotic, fresh, pleasing and yet sporty scent. I wasn’t expecting it to be the best thing I’d ever smelled, but even still, the result was very surprising. And I don’t like surprises.

CLASSIFICATION: earthy, unique

AGE GROUP: [at least] college / mature

SIMILAR SCENT(s): Sun Water

FORM: eau de toilette

While “sporty” may not be my first choice in fragrances, I generally have never met a sporty fragrance that I absolutely hated. Cue LIZSPORT! On the inside of the sample that I received, it states:

“LIZSPORT for Women – A playful, casual fragrance with a lush blend of flowers and freshness.”

I thought I’d love it. ..Feelings change. Actually, they didn’t have to change, because from the first whiff I knew that I was getting myself into trouble. Although not nearly as horrible as Sun Water, which is probably the worst smelling fragrance I have encountered as of yet (read my review here), it certainly did a good job at reminding me of it.

Playful? Nope. Casual? Eh – it didn’t particularly come across as casual to me, but I suppose that if I squinted my eyes hard enough and plugged my nose up well enough, it could be. It’s not that it’s a particularly NON-casual choice, but it doesn’t scream casual at me. Lush blend of flowers? Perhaps, but that depends on what exactly you would consider “lush.” Freshness? That depends – how often do you shower? What do you consider fresh?

The first sniff (for me) was a very overwhelming wind of lemon – it was very strong, and I definitely didn’t expect this scent to be as aggressive at it was (keep in mind, I generally apply sparingly unless I know my scent well enough to apply more generously). Next came the pepper. Although this wasn’t quite a vegetable side dish like Sun Water, it was still very odd. If I had to, I’d call it the unwanted love child of Sun Water and Moschino Funny! – that damn peppery smell. To sum this fragrance up in two words – Lemon. Pepper.

The only difference with LIZSPORT was that I could imagine someone liking it. I think part of the reason that it left such a bad impression is because I really was not preparing myself for failure when it came to this bad boy. I figured, at worst, it would be light and fresh with hardly distinguishable or recognizable notes. I couldn’t have been more wrong.

REPORT CARD

(We highly recommend reading our guide to understanding our grading system if you haven’t already)

First sniff (bottle): C-

First sniff (skin): F+

Worn scent: D-

Staying power: A-

Scent as compared to note(s): A-

Bottle: D+

Overall: D-

I generally just would not recommend LIZSPORT. Please, sample it before you wear it. Perhaps it was just my body chemistry that brought out the peppery zest, but it definitely wouldn’t hurt you to smell it on yourself before actually shelling out any type of substantial money on this one.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

