Scent Addicts – Perfume reviews, fragrance news, & more!


Roxy for Women

NOTES: (as listed on sephora.com): Citrus, Red Fruits, Magnolia, Violet, Lily of the Valley, Frangipani, Ylang Ylang, Amber, Musk

Roxy for women

Roxy for women

I was a little apprehensive about buying Roxy, despite the fact that it was dirt cheap at my local TJ Maxx.   Although I do not own any other Roxy brand products, I am familiar with their line, and I didn’t really think that their perfume would be a good match for me.  However, I had read the notes, and felt them to be non-offensive, so I figured I would purchase it.  Worst case scenario, I was out $15 – best case scenario, I found the perfume that I had been missing out on my entire life.

CLASSIFICATION:  Hip, young, sporty

AGE GROUP:  Teen/college

SIMILAR SCENT(s):  N/A

FORM: Eau de Toilette

Picture this.  Hawaii.  2008.  Scantily clad and well-toned, your high school girlfriends and you are playing a vigorous game of volleyball in the sand.  If you can visualize this as well as I can, the scent that you are associating with that scenario is none other than Roxy perfume for women.

Young.  Hip.  Dynamic.  Crisp.  Sporty.  All of these words describe Roxy.

Roxy is a very consistent fragrance; it smells the same from the bottle as it does on paper or on skin.  The fragrance is long-lasting, and does not need to be re-applied throughout the day.  Not that I would want to;  I feel too old and dowdy to be wearing such a sporty, active fragrance.

Roxy isn’t an unappealing scent, but the way it makes me feel is not desirable.  Plus, my usual preference isn’t usually for fragrances of this type.  While it is distinctive, and not bad for what it is, I will not be looking to keep my bottle, although I may attempt to try it again and reconsider.

Although I didn’t mention this early on in my post, Roxy does remind me a bit of a younger, sportier, and pinker version of Davidoff’s Coolwater original.  It’s been years since I smelled that scent, hence the reason why I did not list this above, but smelling Roxy for the first time immediately made me associate it as such.

REPORT CARD

(We highly recommend reading our guide to understanding our grading system if you haven’t already)

First sniff (bottle): B-

First sniff (skin): B-

Worn scent: B-

Staying power: A

Scent as compared to note(s): B

Bottle: C

Overall: B-

In my opinion, Roxy is best suited for the younger, sportier female.  It is an appealing, non-offensive scent that is perfect for casual, summer wear.

R.I.P Estelle Getty

July 25th, 1923 – July 22nd, 2008

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

RIP Estelle ❤ (From Rebecca)

Comment by scentaddicts




Leave a Reply

