Scent Addicts – Perfume reviews, fragrance news, & more!


Love de Toi
Love de Toi

Love de Toi

NOTES (as listed on fragrantica.com): mandarin orange, raspberry, pink grapefruit, pear, pomegranate, jasmine, lily of the valley, rose, sandalwood, musk, cherry

I ordered a sample of this on a whim while purchasing some other fragrances. I pretty much knew nothing about it, other than that it was a fruity/floral scent, which is what I usually go for. I hadn’t read any reviews about it prior to adding it to my order, but would have probably still added it even if I knew what a terrible reception it had with most online perfume reviewers.

CLASSIFICATION: floral, fruity

AGE GROUP: young

SIMILAR SCENT(s): n/a

FORM: eau de toilette

I had never heard of Love de Toi but was totally willing to give it a shot. At worst, it would be another fruity-floral that smelled nothing like fruit or flowers – I’ve gotten to know many of those in my day. With this what do I have to lose? attitude, my expectations were relatively low. When I received the cute, pink sample packet, excitement definitely took me over. This looked girlie, fun, summery!

Upon first sniff and first spray, this scent was very hard to put my finger on (and still is). While there are many contributing fruity notes, it’s hard to really discern what exactly you’re smelling, although more often than any other distinguishable scent, I smell cherry (which makes sense since that’s actually one of the BASE notes – you usually don’t see a fruity note as a base), but not overwhelmingly so. This is not particularly a super sweet fragrance, although it is by no means dull or dry. I think part of the problem here is that it’s relatively unidentifiable and as a result, undesirable. That’s not to say that I dislike the scent itself, but as a perfume I’m just not so sure it works (for me).

One of the biggest complaints that I’ve read about Love de Toi is that it smells so cheap. While I wouldn’t use as harsh a word as cheap, it definitely does not reek of high class. I would choose Love de Toi over MANY other perfumes that I have sampled, but I don’t believe it is something that I would seek as part of my normal fragrance rotation. It definitely has a very, very young aroma – normally, if I like a scent, I don’t care how “young” it smells, I’ll still wear it. This perfume, however, may be where I draw the line. Again, I would choose this quite easily over many other fragrances that I have tested, but I wouldn’t necessarily choose this as my number one pick against other fruity fragrances such as Midnight Fantasy or Incanto Dream – both of which, despite still typically appealing to the younger crowd, are at least somewhat mature so as not to smell like a children’s bubble bath. But, then again, children’s bubble baths smell good, don’t they?

Love de Toi definitely does not lose points for smelling bad – because it smells good! It just loses points for being a bit immature in a world of competitive fruity florals that are a bit more established. In the fragrance world, fruity fragrances don’t get taken all that seriously, and I would even go so far as to say that they’re somewhat of the underdog (for whatever reason). It would not be a stretch at all to say that Love de Toi would be a fruity-fragrance-hater’s dream come true. It lacks depth and would definitely give them plenty of ammo against other such fragrances of this nature.

REPORT CARD

(We highly recommend reading our guide to understanding our grading system if you haven’t already)

First sniff (bottle): B+

First sniff (skin): A

Worn scent: B+

Staying power: B

Scent as compared to note(s): A

Bottle: B- (cute idea, sort of boring though)

Overall: C+

Love de Toi is a cute fruity floral, definitely best suited for a very young crowd (15-20 or so, if even). While the scent is delightful, it loses points for it’s lack of credibility in the perfume world; it smells like a children’s bath product. I’m sure if I had a bottle of this, I would wear it maybe once a month when I’m in a fun, laid back mood.. but it’s a bit too immature to be in heavy rotation.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

