Scent Addicts – Perfume reviews, fragrance news, & more!


Versace Bright Crsytal
Versace Bright Crystal

Versace Bright Crystal

NOTES (as listed on sephora.com): iced accord, yuzu, pomegranate, peony, magnolia, lotus flower, acajou, vegetal amber, musk

I had heard of Versace Bright Crystal (and even had smelled it) before, but I must not have gotten a very good whiff, combined with that I didn’t get to smell it on my own skin (a co-worker brought it in, but I was already wearing perfume; I only got to smell it on other girls), because it didn’t leave a lasting impression. Upon receiving a sample of it a few days ago, I was eager to test it on myself. I was very pleasantly surprised!

CLASSIFICATION: feminine, clean, floral

AGE GROUP: college

SIMILAR SCENT(s): Vera Wang Flower Princess, Guess New

FORM: eau de toilette

When I had smelled Bright Crystal previously, I don’t particularly remember being impressed, although, I did acknowledge that it was a “nice” smell. I never considered, after sniffing it from the bottle and on other girls a few months back, that I would ever be interested in purchasing it for myself. And, I was half right. While I’m most likely never (although – never say never) going to own this perfume, the only reason is because I have two already that smell almost identical to it.

To me, Bright Crystal smells almost identical to Guess New (which I love – check out my review here), with a pinch of Vera Wang Flower Princess (which, although I didn’t immediately fall in love with, I enjoyed – check out my review here). This equals a very feminine, clean scent with a nice floral splash. I actually really do enjoy this fragrance, and, had I not ever smelled Guess New, I’d probably have fallen in love with Bright Crystal today. I still think quite highly of it, but it’s like seeing this fantastic, dangerously death defying stunt being done by someone after you’ve already seen it done by someone else at least once a week for the last few months – it doesn’t discount the stunt at all, and you give the second person credit, however, it’s just not as impressive since you’re already used to seeing it. The same would be true of Guess New had I smelled Bright Crystal first.

Don’t get me wrong, I highly recommend Bright Crystal as an addition to your perfume collection if you enjoy a good girlie floral scent.. but it’s not worth the money if you already have Guess New, and maybe not even worth it if you already have Vera Wang Flower Princess (since, although they may not smell all that similar when compared on their own, they are in the same category). OR – perhaps you’ve smelled those other two fragrances and thought they smelled hideous. If that’s the case – no need to bother sampling this one! Because they’re very similar.

Regarding the specific scent itself, I can’t really say anything new since it reminds me so much of other fragrances that I have reviewed. The only upper hand that it has on Guess New is that it’s a bit stronger overall (on the other hand, this could be a bad thing if you enjoy the level of fragrance per spray in Guess New), is a slight bit more mature, and, if your a floral fan, it has a bit of a floral aspect (or more of a, if you consider Guess New one), which is hence the “splash of Vera Wang Flower Princess.”

I apologize for the redundancy of this review, but for me, this was a very redundant scent. I do really like Bright Crystal, though.

REPORT CARD

(We highly recommend reading our guide to understanding our grading system if you haven’t already)

First sniff (bottle): A

First sniff (skin): A

Worn scent: A

Staying power: A

Scent as compared to note(s): A

Bottle: C (cute idea, but just looks silly to me for some reason)

Overall: A

Recommended to anyone seeking a feminine, clean, floral fragrance. Buyer beware if you already own (or do not like) Guess New and/or Vera Wang Flower Princess.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

[…] Read a review of Versace Bright Crystal from scentaddicts.com […]

Pingback by Versace Bright Crystal « Perfume and Cologne Reviews




Leave a Reply

