Scent Addicts – Perfume reviews, fragrance news, & more!


Vera Wang Flower Princess
Vera Wang Flower Princess

Vera Wang Flower Princess

NOTES (as listed on sephora.com): Green Ivy, Tangerine, Water Lily, Orange Flower Petals, Moroccan Rose, Jasmine Sambac, Riviera Mimosa, Apricot Skin, Amber, Woods, Musk.

I had tested the original Vera Wang Princess, but was not impressed; for one thing, I was not expecting a floriental fragrance from something that was marketed for an extremely young age group. I read about Vera Wang Flower Princess, and was intrigued. Supposedly, Vera Wang created this fragrance for the Japanese market, which likes lighter, sweeter fragrances according to the review I read. As a result, Vera Wang Flower Princess became available for a limited time in the United States, and I took the plunge before it was too late.

CLASSIFICATION: Soft, feminine, and flowery.

AGE GROUP: college

SIMILAR SCENT(s): Flower Princess vaguely reminds me of J.Lo Glow, just with a much more floral twist

FORM: Eau de Toilette

Vera Wang is a fresh, sweet, and light-hearted fragrance. It is very soft, and as a result, more product needs applied than with your typical perfume. However, once applied, Vera Wang’s simple flowery goodness does not disappoint; the fragrance doesn’t fade from it’s original application, and lasts the majority of the day. Plus, it is so subtle, those around you always want to lean closer to get another whiff.

As this fragrance is light and playful, I would recommend this scent for spring and summer months. It is a little bit too sweet for the harshness of winter… which really is a shame, because I am in love.

(We highly recommend reading our guide to understanding our grading system if you haven’t already)

First sniff (bottle): A

First sniff (skin): A

Worn scent: A

Staying power: B

Scent as compared to note(s): A

Bottle: A

Overall: A

One small complaint: Vera Wang Princess and Flower Princess have very different box packaging, but are in virtually the same bottle. Princess is a purple juice with a gold colored cap, and Flower Princess is a pink juice with a silver cap, but both bottles simply say ‘Vera Wang Princess”, and have the same bottle design. Beware when purchasing or even sampling!

CLASSIFICATION: feminine, clean, floral

AGE GROUP: perfect for any age

SIMILAR SCENT(s): Versace Bright Crystal

I had heard nothing but wonderful things about Flower Princess prior to smelling it, so I was really looking forward to finally sampling it for myself. Personally, I have a bad habit of getting my hopes way too high whenever I hear about something being “good,” and this does not just go for fragrances (movies, books, foods, you name it). I tried to keep an open mind so that I could form an opinion of it without comparing it to the idea that I had of it (which was on a pretty high pedestal).

I think, for the most part, I did a good job. While I didn’t dislike this fragrance at all, I somehow smelled some sort of buttery/toffee type of note upon sniffing it from the bottle and first applying it onto my skin. While this wasn’t a bad smell, it certainly wasn’t what I expected from a bottle of perfume called Flower Princess. Additionally, I didn’t particularly have a desire to smell like popcorn. I didn’t pay much more attention beyond that, as it turned me off a bit. After that sampling, I certainly did not DISlike Flower Princess, but I had no desire to really wear it. I vowed that I would sample again a few more times before forming my complete opinion on it.

Since Jackie posted a review, I figured it was about time that I go ahead and try it on again. Not to an alarming degree, but once again, I detected a sweet, buttery/toffee scent. Although this part of the perfume was vague and non-alarming (i.e. you won’t smell like a tub of movie theater butter), it was still there for me. As crazy as it seems, and even if no one else has ever gathered this from Flower Princess, I’m sticking to my story. I can’t help what I smell! However, it wasn’t so much as a turn-off this time around for me, since I was expecting it. Since that factor did not catch me off guard this time around, I was able to focus on other aspects of the scent.

Once the scent actually dried on my skin, I was much more accepting of it (and, yes, once it dried, the butter/toffee thing that I smelled pretty much went away). I’d consider this a pretty unique fragrance, which is a good thing. It’s definitely feminine, and I’d consider it a clean, flowery scent. While these are all things that I generally admire in a perfume, I wasn’t instantly hooked for some unexplainable reason (which, to this day, I still am unsure as to why). One specific gripe that I have for Flower Princess is the staying power. On my skin, it barely lasted as a recognizable fragrance and quickly died down (although to it’s credit, what it died down to was a desirable, light scent).

Being that Flower Princess is limited edition, I will most likely purchase a (smaller-sized) bottle of it. I can definitely see myself wearing it from time to time, for occassions where I want to feel/smell particularly clean (emphasis on clean, not fresh – the two, when it comes to perfumes, are very different in my opinion, and this is not a fresh scent) and feminine, although reapplication will definitely be necessary in order for me to fully enjoy the aroma for more than just an hour or so at a time.

REPORT CARD

First sniff (bottle): B+

First sniff (skin): C+

Worn scent: B+

Staying power: D+

Scent as compared to note(s): B- (to me, this scent smells much better than what I had in mind after reading the notes)

Bottle: A-

Overall: B-

I would recommend Flower Princess to anyone looking for a clean, feminine, light scent for daily or semi-daily use.


3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

[...] Vera Wang Flower Princess [...]

Pingback by Scent Addicts

[...] Princess (which, although I didn’t immediately fall in love with, I enjoyed – check out my review here). This equals a very feminine, clean scent with a nice floral splash. I actually really do [...]

Pingback by Versace Bright Crsytal « Scent Addicts

[...] this is a very feminine fragrance, a la Vera Wang Flower Princess (you can read that review here).  I must admit to liking this fragrance more and more, the longer I wear it, and the more and [...]

Pingback by Dior Addict 2 « Scent Addicts - Perfume reviews, fragrance news, & more!




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

