Scent Addicts – Perfume reviews, fragrance news, & more!


Maria Sharapova
Maria Sharapova

Maria Sharapova

NOTES (as listed on perfumania.com): Mandarin, Bergamot, Cassis Berries, Lemongrass, Gardenia, Jasmine, Magnolia, Pomegranite Leaf, English Rose Petals, Wimbledon Grass, Cashmere Musk, White Amber Crystals, Vanilla.

I purchased a mini bottle of Maria Sharapova based on reviews I read, which namely claimed that it was a light, floral, sporty fragrance. I am ashamed to admit that I had no idea who Maria Sharapova was, aside from being an attractive blonde as displayed on the packing for her perfume, and that didn’t much matter to me. The notes seemed non-offensive, if not a little mysterious (hello, wimbledon grass?), and, although I know not to judge a book by its cover, the bottle appear to house some light and feminine juice.

CLASSIFICATION: Feminine, floral

AGE GROUP: Perfect for anyone

SIMILAR SCENT(s): Reminds me of Estee Lauder Pleasures

FORM: Eau de Parfum

Apparently, Maria Sharapova is a famous tennis player, and that may be why so many people thought of this scent as sporty. I can only reason that they know that she is sporty, because I do not consider her perfume to be at all. Not that that is a problem. I’m not even quite sure I want to smell sports (sweat?) and flowers together, anyway.

Maria Sharapova is a nice, floral fragrance. It is a bit on the strong side, but not overwhelmingly so; a little does go a long way, however. Although pleasant, there is nothing that sets this fragrances apart from its competitors. I myself found it to smell a lot like I remember Estee Lauders Pleasures to smell.

I can’t smell a specific note at all, which may be for the best (remember that wimbledon grass?) Rather, it reminds me of a bouquet of flowers. It is what I would call a romantic scent, and because of that, I would not wear this perfume on a casual outting; rather, I would recommend this perfume for someone looking to purchase a light floral for their dinner date. Kind of strange for a tennis star’s signature fragrance? Perhaps.

On a positive note, this fragrance does not change much from initial spray, or even from what I smell directly from the bottle. What you see is what you get from Maria Sharapova.

(We highly recommend reading our guide to understanding our grading system if you haven’t already)

First sniff (bottle): B-

First sniff (skin): B-

Worn scent: B-

Staying power: A

Scent as compared to note(s): B

Bottle: B

Overall: B-

Maria Sharapova is, again, pleasant and non-offensive, but not my usual style of perfume. Where I am not rushing to wash this scent off my skin, I am also not planning on buying this fragrance anytime soon, nor do I really ever have a reason to wear it, as I do classify it as more of a romantic/evening scent.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

