Scent Addicts – Perfume reviews, fragrance news, & more!


Sun Water
Sun Water

Sun Water

NOTES (as listed at 1loveperfumes.com): bergamot, green apple, black currant, lily of the valley, cedarwood, vanilla

While purchasing perfume online, I figured I would see if there was anything else on that website that I’d like to try, and if available in a sample size, I’d go ahead and add it to my order. Whenever I do something like this, my expectations are set very low, so as not to be disappointed. Even so, disappointment does not even BEGIN to describe my feelings towards this scent.

CLASSIFICATION: unique, spicy, masculine

AGE GROUP: mature

SIMILAR SCENT(s): n/a

FORM: eau de toilette

As a disclaimer, I usually try to make my reviews as constructive as possible, and as unbiased as possible, so that people who may not share my exact fragrance preferences can still get an accurate write-up; this is going to be VERY hard for me to do with this scent.

Probably the most unique scent that I’ve ever encountered in my entire life (and probably ever will), Sun Water was immensely different than I thought it would be. I read (several places) that this was a fruity scent. This could not be more false. As stated in previous reviews, I usually have a hard time comparing fragrances/notes to every day, more common smells. With this perfume, it was incredibly easy. Sun Water seriously smells like some sort of peppered vegetable side dish that I would have turned my nose up to as a child (and probably still would now). It is very hard for me to even describe, so if that seems harsh – my apologies. It was the best I could do.

The scent seriously reminds me of steamed, peppered broccoli, with a few added bonus mystery smells for good measure. Perhaps, as a stretch, one could say it’s a green-y, plantlike fragrance. Very earthy.

As a fragrance, this was pretty consistent from first application to after being worn for a little while. Surprisingly enough, though, it’s staying power left much to be desired – despite being a very strong scent, it began to walk away with it’s tail between it’s legs rather quickly, especially compared to how long I assumed it would last when I saw how powerful it was upon first application.

REPORT CARD

(We highly recommend reading our guide to understanding our grading system if you haven’t already)

First sniff (bottle): C

First sniff (skin): F-

Worn scent: F-

Staying power: D-

Scent as compared to note(s): D-

Bottle: F

Overall: F-

I wouldn’t recommend this scent unless you are a fan of very strong (at first), unique scents and aren’t afraid of a little spice of masculinity in your perfume. Even so, use sparingly and don’t say I didn’t warn you!

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

[…] horrible as Sun Water, which is probably the worst smelling fragrance I have encountered as of yet (read my review here), it certainly did a good job at reminding me of […]

Pingback by LIZSPORT by Liz Claiborne « Scent Addicts - Perfume reviews, fragrance news, & more!




Leave a Reply

