Scent Addicts – Perfume reviews, fragrance news, & more!


Ralph Lauren Blue
Ralph Lauren Blue

Ralph Lauren Blue

NOTES (as listed on beautyencounter.com): lotus flower, muguet, gardenia, sparkling jasmine accord, pink peony, rose de mai, tuberose, jasmine petals, orange flower, musk, ambrette, sandalwood, mousse de chine, vetiver

At work, a new girl that we had just hired always smelled wonderful to me. I finally asked her one day what she was wearing, and it was Ralph Lauren Blue. It was always in the back of my mind to go out and get it for myself, but I had put it off for years, until about a month ago. Some things just aren’t the same as you remember them…

CLASSIFICATION: floral

AGE GROUP: college, mature

SIMILAR SCENT(s): Britney Spears Curious

FORM: eau de toilette

Perhaps my memory is foggy and I didn’t like it back then as much as I remembered. Perhaps it was just a better suited fragrance for her than it is for me. Perhaps my tastes have just changed significantly (most likely). Or, perhaps all three. Either way, while I don’t dislike Ralph Lauren Blue, it doesn’t really hold my attention like it did back then. I certainly enjoy floral fragrances, although they are not my favorite. This one isn’t a particularly feminine floral, but more so a watery, clean (not fresh – to me, there’s a difference) floral.

While it does have staying power (the scent will be with you for the majority of your day), and is very consistent (for me, there weren’t many changes in the scent from first application to the end of the day), it is also a little colorless (no pun intended). No real zing, no real zip. That’s not necessarily a bad thing – there are definitely some moods and occasions that are not suited for a fragrance with “zip.”

The simplicity (again – not necessarily a bad thing) of Ralph Lauren Blue also explains the relatively short review I have for it. I don’t really have any complaints, and I don’t really have any specific praises; I don’t dislike it, but it’s not something in my heavy rotation. I will, however, still wear it from time to time.

REPORT CARD

(We highly recommend reading our guide to understanding our grading system if you haven’t already)

First sniff (bottle): B-

First sniff (skin): B-

Worn scent: C

Staying power: A-

Scent as compared to note(s): A

Bottle: C+

Overall: C+

Sometimes, a simple fragrance is what you crave.. or maybe more than just sometimes. Simple, perhaps classic, Ralph Lauren Blue is best suited for casual occasions/every day wear.

My mother wears Blue by Ralph Lauren, and I got into the habit of spraying some on when I was in the mood for something different. Blue reminds me of taking a long walk on the beach, wearing a polo shirt, capris, and flip flops. Rebecca described the scent as being “colorless”, but I wouldn’t say that; at worst, I would call Blue “non-offensive, with an oceanic twist”.

There really isn’t much to this fragrance. It’s pleasant enough, but I have no plans on purchasing it anytime soon. Blue is a fresh scent (to me), as well as a “clean” scent. It is not your typical floral, and I never really associated it with being a floral fragrance.

First sniff (bottle): B

First sniff (skin): B

Worn scent: B

Staying power: A

Scent as compared to note(s): A

Bottle: B

Overall: B

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I have a hard time staying with one perfume for long periods of time, and i actually went and bought a second bottle of this perfume!, I get many compliments on it. It is a very fresh, clean smelling perfume. Out of the shower , day at the beach on a breezy day fresh.

Comment by Hillary




Leave a Reply

