Scent Addicts – Perfume reviews, fragrance news, & more!


Marc Jacobs Daisy

Marc Jacobs "Daisy"

NOTES (as listed on nordstrom.com): Top notes: bright and fresh violet leaves, wild strawberries. Mid notes: comfortable violet petals, jasmine bouquet. Base notes: feminine musk, vanilla infusion.

I was very excited about trying Daisy after reading rave reviews about how it was THE fragrance to have for the 18-24 age group, and how it was basically the best thing since God created man. Plus, the bottle is to die for.

CLASSIFICATION: Fresh and floral opening that turns musky.

AGE GROUP: college at first, fading into mature.

SIMILAR SCENT(s): N/A

FORM: Eau de Toilette

When this is first sprayed, both on paper and on skin, it is a beautiful, light-hearted sparkling floral. The aroma is youthful and full of energy. First sprayed, Daisy is everything I imagined it would be and more. Within seconds, I considered myself sold.

Unfortunately, (both on paper and on skin) the scent dries to a heady, musky scent. The sparkling and playfulness is gone, replaced by a scent befitting Blanche from the Golden Girls. It becomes overpowering; when dry, the fragrance is to the point of being sickening, even with only one spray.

I keep testing this fragrance over and over, hoping I change my mind, as I am known to do once I become more comfortable with a scent. It’s hard for me to believe that something that opens so beatifically can finish so horrifically. Oh, how you disappointed me, Daisy.

REPORT CARD

(We highly recommend reading our guide to understanding our grading system if you haven’t already)

First sniff (bottle): A

First sniff (skin): A

Worn scent: D-

Staying power: A

Scent as compared to note(s): C

Bottle: A

Overall: D

I never really thought twice about Daisy; I would see it “in passing” while perfume-shopping online, in random advertisements, etc. While I do enjoy a good floral, my heart belongs to fruity scents, fresh scents, and feminine scents. Not that one cannot be a mixture or combination or multiple classifications, but for some reason I just assumed that Daisy wouldn’t suit my needs and that it would be mediocre floral.

While it wasn’t necessarily mediocre (that would be a step up), it was not enjoyable on me. At first spray I, too, really liked it. I didn’t gather that it was light-hearted or a floral, but I didn’t mind the strongness of the scent as, for me, it was a very nicely combined floral with fruitiness to it (must have been those damn wild strawberries). I began to eat my words as I continued sniffing my wrist just to get another whiff of the surprising awesomeness that was Daisy. In an unfortunate turn of events, however, everything quickly changed as things started to get heavier, thicker, less-fruity, less-floral, and more mature. While it’s not necessarily my cup of tea, I don’t necessarily have anything against mature fragrances; just that more often than not, you get a feeling of suffocation, even from the lightest spray (I do NOT apply heavily when testing, and even in general, unless I know that I prefer a certain scent applied less sparingly).

Suffocation didn’t even begin to describe my experience with Marc Jacobs Daisy. It was powerful, but in an overwhelming, I’m coughing because this is so aromatic way. I continued smelling my wrist to see if it died down at all and it didn’t. I must give credit where credit is due – if you want a long lasting scent, Daisy is your man.. err, woman. I think. But be warned – it’s not as feminine as one would assume (or at least, as I did), and the lovely top notes disappear quickly to make room for the (in my opinion) obnoxious “feminine” musk.

Lastly, although irrelevant to the scent itself, I think I am the only person on the planet who doesn’t adore this bottle. It’s not that I dislike it, but it just isn’t anything special to me. It’s cute, yes, but I never thought twice about it. As a side note, it won Fragrance Foundation’s FiFi Award for Women’s Prestige Best Packaging, 2008.

First sniff (bottle): B

First sniff (skin): A+

Worn scent: D-

Staying power: A+

Scent as compared to note(s): C-

Bottle: C+

Overall: D

If you enjoy a mature, strong, captivating (to put it nicely) fragrance with staying power, give Daisy a try – despite the flirtiness of the top notes (don’t worry – they’ll disappear before you know it!), it’s definitely a heavier scent.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

[…] had such a bad experience with one of his other scents, Daisy (you can read our reviews of Daisy by clicking here). I kept an open mind and tried to forget my thoughts on Daisy as I inhaled Blush deeply. Upon […]

Pingback by Marc Jacobs Blush « Scent Addicts




Leave a Reply

