Scent Addicts – Perfume reviews, fragrance news, & more!


Kimora Lee Simmons Baby Phat Goddess
Baby Phat Goddess

Baby Phat Goddess

NOTES (as listed on fragrancenet.com): soft musk, white rosebuds, flower, blue lily, black Pepper, hyacinth, seringa, pure gardenia, exotic woods

To be quite honest, I don’t remember how I came across Goddess. I remember I had already heard of it and sampled it very briefly (a quick sniff of the nozzle), and thought it smelled fine.. then one day it had just been sprayed in the fragrance department and I was hooked. I asked what the scent was and when I was told it was Goddess, I knew it was time to go out and purchase it.

CLASSIFICATION: floral, feminine, slightly powdery

AGE GROUP: college, slightly mature

SIMILAR SCENT(s): Adidas Adrenaline

FORM: eau de parfume

I have owned Baby Phat Goddess for a few years. When I first made the purchase, I immediately added this scent to my heavy rotation of perfumes. I very much enjoyed the feminine aspect of it (think: princess), and the floral notes were a perfect mixture of sweet, demure, and fun. At first, I considered this more of a young, or perfect for anyone, fragrance. Currently, I’d consider it at least a college-aged fragrance. As time went by, it made it’s way out of my heavy rotation and onto the bench should I ever need a replacement at the spur of the moment. Perhaps this took place because my tastes in perfume simply changed, maybe my body chemistry became a bit different, maybe I simply grew tired of the scent since it was something that I wore rather often. Whatever the case, I don’t really get the same feeling now as I used to from Goddess.

That’s not to say that I don’t still enjoy it. This fragrance is not something that I’ll ever consider eBaying the remainder of my bottle of, or handing down to a friend. My tastes have slightly shifted onto more summery, light fragrances – and Goddess is neither of those. While girlie and flowery, this is a fairly heavy fragrance. When I say heavy, don’t worry – I don’t mean overwhelming or intrusive in the least bit, however, it’s a very interesting, unique combination of thick AND feminine.

While I do not usually care for powdery fragrances, I do enjoy this, and it is a bit on the powdery side. The bottle is a fairly accurate representation of what it contains – as silly as it sounds, when I smell Goddess, I think of a fluffy pink powder puff. In regards to the notes, soft musk, black pepper and exotic woods would definitely scare me away from purchasing this, and maybe even from smelling it. I assure you, though, that those three notes are by no means abundant in this scent. I do not (and have not ever), from first spray to after hours of wear, smell any those. This scent has never turned into a spicy or woodsy scent on me (something to be admired, in my opinion).

As a side note, if you’re frugal when it comes to purchasing fragrances and are contemplating adding Baby Phat Goddess to your collection, a cheaper alternative which may do the trick for you is Adidas Adrenaline. While not an exact carbon copy, to me, Adrenaline smells VERY similar to Goddess. Adrenaline can usually be found at a much most cost-efficient price, and is worth your while if you’re still unsure about Goddess.

REPORT CARD

(We highly recommend reading our guide to understanding our grading system if you haven’t already)

First sniff (bottle): C

First sniff (skin): B-

Worn scent: B-

Staying power: B

Scent as compared to note(s): B (it is NOT spicy or woodsy as the notes may lead you to believe)

Bottle: B- (a bit on the gaudy side, but fun and girlie nonetheless)

Overall: C+

By all means, I am proud to say that I own this perfume. I do believe it will be put back into my regular rotation once summer is over and things start to cool down a bit. The powdery aspect of this scent definitely disqualifies it as a summertime favorite.

CLASSIFICATION: feminine, powdery

AGE GROUP: mature

SIMILAR SCENT(s): n/a

FORM: eau de parfume

Take four parts water, 10 parts baby power, and 3 parts musk. Mix. Spray onto skin. Enjoy.

To me, Baby Phat Goddess smells like a very powerful baby powder. Where the scent is indeed feminine, I do not see it as a fresh scent. Any floral notes go missing on my skin. Wearing Goddess kind of reminds me of taking a sink bath; being too lazy to take a shower, so you just wash up quickly, pat yourself down with some Johnson and Johnson, and call it a day.

I have smelled Goddess on other women and enjoyed it, but it is just NOT the scent that I want to wear on myself. I have sampled it several times, and plan to keep trying it as I have a 3.4 fl oz bottle of the juice sitting on my shelf. At first, the scent doesn’t bother me, but it seems to overwhelm my senses after a few hours, leaving me with the inability to smell anything else.

First sniff (bottle): B

First sniff (skin): B

Worn scent: D

Staying power: A++ (I can smell this for days after I wear it, it seems)

Scent as compared to note(s): C (again, I don’t smell any floral notes at all)

Bottle: B

Overall: C-


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a comment