Scent Addicts – Perfume reviews, fragrance news, & more!


Gwen Stefani L, a L.A.M.B. fragrance
L, a L.A.M.B. fragrance by Gwen Stefani

L, a L.A.M.B. fragrance by Gwen Stefani

NOTES (as listed on fragrancenet.com): water hyacinth, violet, fresh pear, white freesia, jasmine, muguet, sweet pea, rose, orange blossom, heliotrope, peach

I was visiting with my sister for the weekend, she was finishing up getting ready to go out while I browsed her new magazine selection. I came upon an advertisement for the (at the time) new fragrance from Gwen Stefani, and immediately became excited. I admired many of the pieces from her fashion line L.A.M.B., and expected this fragrance to be ultra-fun, ultra-flirty, and ultra-sassy. We went to Nordstrom’s right away so that I could investigate further…

CLASSIFICATION: unique, fresh, feminine, slightly floral

AGE GROUP: college

SIMILAR SCENT(s): n/a

FORM: eau de parfume

To my surprise, L by Gwen Stefani was NOT flirty, was NOT fruity, and was not at ALL sassy. It did not represent the in-your-face, fun-loving, zany Gwen Stefani of yesteryear. I know now that this scent was definitely created with her “classic,” “timeless,” beauty phase in mind (think: softly curled hair, glamorous red lips, mysteriously lengthy eyelashes). This was a bit of a let down for me compared to what I was expecting, but I did not lose interest, or hope. I sniffed the tester numerous times before making the plunge – I sprayed my wrist ever so lightly. We continued walking about as I would check the scent every few moments. One of my favorite things about L by Gwen Stefani is it’s consistency. The scent did not change at all from first sniff of the nozzle, to first spray on the wrist, to being worn all day.

The scent itself is a bit tricky, for me, to put my finger on. It’s unlike any fragrance that I have ever smelled, and perhaps doesn’t fit into my normal perfume tastes. It’s more on the mature side, which I usually shy away from – although this fragrance is not by any means a bad fit for the younger, college crowd. It’s definitely not overwhelming, but has staying power and an attention-getting aroma. While there are some fruity notes (pear, orange, peach), they are not abundant whatsoever, and I would not consider this fragrance fruity in the least bit. For me, it’s just a fresh, feminine scent that is timeless; wear it with jeans and flip flops or out on a fancy dinner date and either way, it won’t be out of place.

REPORT CARD

(We highly recommend reading our guide to understanding our grading system if you haven’t already)

First sniff (bottle): A

First sniff (skin): A

Worn scent: A

Staying power: B

Scent as compared to note(s): B

Bottle: C-

Overall: A

This one is more of a generalized crowd pleaser than any of the other perfumes that I have reviewed so far; the young and the old, the fun and the serious, the thoughtful and the carefree will all get something worthwhile from this scent.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

