Scent Addicts – Perfume reviews, fragrance news, & more!


Guess New
Guess New

Guess New

NOTES (as listed on fragrancenet.com): amber, freesia, tangerine, muguet, green apple, peach, peony, musk

I bought this on a whim, with a gift card that was going to expire. I wanted to smell it prior to purchase, as I hadn’t even so much as READ about it at that point, but there was no tester. Since I had to spend the gift card or lose it, I went ahead and got it. Quite the opposite of my Wrapped With Love purchase, Guess New went down in history as one of my best “uneducated” perfume purchases.

CLASSIFICATION: clean, fresh, feminine

AGE GROUP: college

SIMILAR SCENT(s): Versace Bright Crystal

FORM: eau de parfume

Once my purchase was complete, I tore into the box that Guess New came in. I couldn’t wait to see everything – the bottle, the color! Nor could I wait to smell this for the first time. I was expecting the worst as I pulled the velvety powder-pink satchel out. Anxiously, I pulled the perfume from the satchel. I was a bit perplexed by the bottle shape and appearance. I was expecting it to be a bit more trendy rather than modern looking, and maybe a bit more young. But, as we always say (and even more so in reference to fragrances) – it’s what’s inside that counts.

My first whiff of this was extremely pleasing. Instantly I was enveloped in cleanliness, freshness, and femininity. The scent reminds me of the first step out of a nice, cool shower on a warm, muggy summer evening – where you entered feeling worn, tired, and dull.. but left feeling revitalized, energized, and fresh.

To me, it’s just a generally positive, pleasing scent. There are no heavy or overbearing notes, and the scent didn’t change from first sniff to being worn until the end of the day. Although this is a parfume, the staying power (on me) left a little to be desired; it didn’t dissipate quickly, but it wasn’t as long lasting as Iong as I had hoped. I actually thought it was an eau de toilette until checking the bottom of my bottle moments ago.

Lastly, although there are some fruity notes (tangerine, green apple, peach), they are not particularly discernible. This is by no means a fruity fragrance.

REPORT CARD

(We highly recommend reading our guide to understanding our grading system if you haven’t already)

First sniff (bottle): A

First sniff (skin): A

Worn scent: A

Staying power: B

Scent as compared to note(s): A

Bottle: C

Overall: A++

Guess New is a non-abrasive, gentle, feminine and clean fragrance. To me, it works well in any climate, during any season (Summer, Winter, and all in between), but is best suited for every day/casual occassions.

CLASSIFICATION: floral, romantic, fresh

AGE GROUP: perfect for anyone

SIMILAR SCENT(s): n/a

FORM: eau de parfume

I read some online reviews on Guess (New) by Guess several months back, and decided that I needed to have it. I immediately went to eBay.com to purchase a small-commitment mini. After days of stress related panic while I waited for this perfume to be delivered to me via mail, when I finally I opened it, I expected to smell the foul order of rotten eggs or something equally horrible, and was instead pleasantly surprised.

Guess New is a lovely fresh yet floral scent that is neither offensive nor nondescript. On the contrary, it’s very distinctive, and is definitely a scent that could be worn on any occasion. The romantic aspect is perfect for a night on the town, yet the soft freshness is suitable for relaxing with a small group of friends.

I had no problem with the staying power; sprayed at the beginning of the day, I can smell Guess on myself until I go to bed.

First sniff (bottle): A

First sniff (skin): A

Worn scent: A

Staying power: A

Scent as compared to note(s): A

Bottle: C (I have no real issues with the appearance of the bottle, however, the cap only fits on the bottle one particular way, and for some reason, that is always the wrong way for me at first attempt).

Overall: A++

Guess New is a lovely, fresh, and feminine fragrance that I am quick to recommend to any woman of any age group, and for any occasion.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

[…] me, Bright Crystal smells almost identical to Guess New (which I love – check out my review here), with a pinch of Vera Wang Flower Princess (which, although I didn’t immediately fall […]

Pingback by Versace Bright Crsytal « Scent Addicts




Leave a Reply

