Scent Addicts – Perfume reviews, fragrance news, & more!


Escada Pacific Paradise
Escada Pacific Paradise

Escada Pacific Paradise

NOTES (as listed on fragrancenet.com): banana, apple, coconut, lime, sugary, sandalwood, amber, and musk

I received a sample vial of Pacific Paradise in the mail and instantly fell in love smelling it from the tiny “test tube” that I had of it. I sampled it on my skin and was very intrigued with the scent, and after a few days, decided to purchase a bottle for my collection. Surprisingly, I’ve only worn it a couple of times since..

CLASSIFICATION: fruity, tropical, beachy

AGE GROUP: perfect for any age / college

SIMILAR SCENT(s): Ghost Summer Flirt

FORM: eau de toilette

When I first smelled Pacific Paradise, it was the answer to my prayers. At the time, I had recently sampled Betsey Johnson (review coming soon!) and was sorely disappointed with it. Pacific Paradise, to me, was like Betsey Johnson – minus all of the stuff I didn’t like about it.

While Pacific Paradise is definitely a fruity fragrance, on me, it had a bit of a kick to it – not necessarily a spiciness, but a little something extra. I enjoyed the uniqueness of it and instantly declared myself a fan. Something changed, though, from the first couple of times that I sampled it, to when I added it as a permanent fixture in my collection. I wore it a couple of times and found that it was a bit stronger than I had originally interpreted it to be. This wasn’t necessarily a problem, mind you, but it sort of threw me through a loop. I got a bit turned off and haven’t really worn it since. I’ll have to give it another try, this time expecting a bit stronger of a scent so that it doesn’t knock me down, so to speak.

If you’re interested (or turned off) by the banana or coconut notes, please know that they are not obvious at all; I don’t smell either of the two when I take a whiff. While fruity fragrances can sometimes be soft and child-like, this is anything but. It’s definitely got some bite, and it won’t leave you yearning for more. It’s almost sticky sweet – one of the first few times I wore it after purchasing a large bottle, my fiance asked me what I was wearing and insisted that it smelled like peaches. He, of course, is not interested in perfumes so I generally pay no mind to his banter when it comes to whatever new scent I am obsessed with.. but this time it stuck. Ever since he said that, Pacific Paradise does indeed smell like peaches to me – like the sugary, syrupy, rich peaches that come in a can. While this isn’t necessarily a good or bad thing, it should give you a good idea of how aromatic and sweet it is. It’s a strong scent, but still breezy, tropical, and beachy. It’s definitely a perfect Summer/Spring scent. I wouldn’t recommend this for Autumn or Winter wear.

This is one of those fragrances that I like, but I can’t quite put my finger on the one thing that is holding me back from LOVING it. If I ever do, this review will be edited – I don’t care if that means jumping out of bed at 4 in the morning when it finally comes to me out of nowhere. It’s like an enigma to me at this point.

Will I wear this again? Yes, but I’ll have to be in the appropriate mood for it. When I first smelled it, this was instantly a perfume that I thought would be in my top five, so it’s quite odd to have something just not click.

As a side note, Escada perfumes (particularly their limited editions, which this is one of) have a bad reputation of fading quickly, meaning reapplication is a must if you plan on all-day wear; Pacific Paradise has great staying power, considering.

REPORT CARD

(We highly recommend reading our guide to understanding our grading system if you haven’t already)

First sniff (bottle): A

First sniff (skin): A

Worn scent: B-

Staying power: A-

Scent as compared to note(s): A

Bottle: C-

Overall: B-

Recommended if you’re looking for a tropical, summery, beach-type of scent. I don’t have anything necessarily bad to say about this one, but there’s something I can’t quite put my finger on.

I received a test vial of Pacific Paradise, and fell immediately in love with the fragrance at first whiff. Upon applying it to skin, I realized that it faded rather quickly; the tart, tropical, and fruity aspect of the fragrance did turn a bit musky, as I’ve noticed also occurs with several other Escada perfumes. However, I saw a 1.6 fl oz bottle on eBay for a terrific deal, and decided to add it to my collection for those moments when I wanted to wear something different.

I found out quickly that Pacific Paradise worked better for me with a bottle that sprayed as opposed to a tiny vial that you have to “spill” onto your wrist. The scent does last longer on me now, so I am able to smell the aforementioned beloved tart, tropical, and fruity notes for a longer period of time.

Peach is the fruit that dominates this scent, and after it fades, the fragrance is best described as “musky peach”, which, unfortunately is not my favorite. However, I do still enjoy Pacific Paradise despite its flaws, and will continue to wear it from time to time this summer.

First sniff (bottle): A

First sniff (skin): A

Worn scent: C

Staying power: C

Scent as compared to note(s): D (Not one of the notes is “peach”, and I definitely smell a very strong peach smell from this fragrance, whereas I do NOT smell banana, apple, coconut and lime)

Bottle: B

Overall: B-

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

