Scent Addicts – Perfume reviews, fragrance news, & more!


DKNY Red Delicious Charmingly Delicious
DKNY Red Delicious Charmingly Delicious

DKNY Red Delicious Charmingly Delicious

NOTES (as listed on sephora.com): red fruit, apple, vanilla

I smelled both this version and the green version (DKNY Be Delicious Charmingly Delicious) in a magazine, and went to the mall as soon as I could to smell them more in-depth. Unfortunately, I was unable to smell this version there, but ended up purchasing (and loving) the green version. I decided to buy a small bottle of this online figuring it would be a good investment, since I liked the green version so much.

CLASSIFICATION: unique, slightly spicy

AGE GROUP: slightly college, but more so mature

SIMILAR SCENT(s): DKNY Red Delicious

FORM: eau de toilette

Unfortunately, I have never worn the “original” version of this fragrance (DKNY Red Delicious), so I am unable to make a fair comparison of the two. Despite never wearing the original on my skin, I had briefly smelled it once at the fragrance counter while preparing to purchase another fragrance, and I remember thinking that I would probably like it on me. I still would like to sample it for myself, but that’s neither here nor there. Because of my initial reaction to the original, and being told that the Limited Edition “Charmingly” versions were just the eau de toilette versions (read: lighter) of the parfume, I figured I would probably really enjoy DKNY Red Delicious Charmingly Delicious. Before I continue with this review, though, can I just quickly comment on how I find the names of these limited edition versions slightly annoying and way too long? Moving on…

I was very excited to try this on once I received it in the mail. Immediately, it was much stronger that I expected! I thought it would be relatively light for two reasons; a) this is an eau de toilette, and b) there are only three notes (all of which I personally assumed were going to be pretty non-aggressive). It’s not that this scent is extremely heavy, just that I was expecting something totally different. Upon initial spray, and once it had been on my skin for some time, I never could smell the apple, or red fruit, personally. Not even necessarily the vanilla, either, but I wasn’t really seeking that out of this scent anyways. I was pretty turned off because of this. With only three notes, I expected them to be pretty recognizable, and to me, they weren’t.

I didn’t necessarily HATE this fragrance, but it was not something that I ever considered adding to my rotation. It may sound silly, but to me, this fragrance smelled like cherry cola. Not necessarily a BAD smell, just something that I wouldn’t desire to smell like, and that I wouldn’t seek from a perfume. While it wasn’t really spicy, I classified it as such according to my experience with it since it was a bit on the heavier side, and it wasn’t quite fruity, woodsy, feminine, fresh, or any other scent adjective that I could come up with. Spicy was the best fit – but by all means – do not expect this to be a masculine or typical “spice” scent at all.

REPORT CARD

(We highly recommend reading our guide to understanding our grading system if you haven’t already)

First sniff (bottle): C

First sniff (skin): C

Worn scent: C

Staying power: A

Scent as compared to note(s): D

Bottle: C

Overall: C-

While this scent wasn’t the end of the world for me, it’s not something that I’ll ever wear again after sampling it. I’ve smelled way worse, sure, but this is one of the biggest disappointments in regards to what I was expecting when I read what the notes were, and what I got.

CLASSIFICATION: slightly fruity, slightly spicy

AGE GROUP: mature

SIMILAR SCENT(s): DKNY Red Delicious

FORM: Eau de Toilette

I wanted to try this fragrance because I loved the original DKNY Be Delicious Charmingly Delicious scent (it’s actually one of my all-time favorites). I had smelled the original Red Delicious a couple years ago, and wasn’t impressed, but my taste in fragrance has changed. I decided to give this scent a shot.

My first reaction upon initial application was about what I expected; I was neither put off nor impressed. Red Charmingly Delicious has a fruity apple opening, that is both fresh and spicy. The scent is actually quite consistent; I can still smell the opening several hours later.

The scent actually reminds me of apple cider, as it is both sweet and slightly spicy. Not a bad scent, but nothing I’d wear during the summer. It’s much more suited for a casual fall (October) scent. And the wearer must be drinking apple cider and dressed in flannels, of course.

REPORT CARD

First sniff (bottle): C

First sniff (skin): C

Worn scent: C

Staying power: A

Scent as compared to note(s): C

Bottle: C

Overall: C

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

